Micrologix 1200 & PanelView Topology

USA_Hole17

Hello Everyone,

Please forgive me for some of my ignorance, I am relatively new to the PLC community.

I am setting up a machine monitoring system on one of our manufacturing lines and am trying to get our Micrologix 1200 controlled assets on Ethernet.

To do this I purchased the 1761-NET-ENI/D Ethernet module to be installed with the processor. We have PanelView's set up via RS-232 and it's my understanding that you can not daisy chain this setup like you can with the DH+ network.

What I'm looking for is some advice on how I can get the Micrologix 1200 on the network while still maintaining connection / functionality with the PanelView and the processor.

Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance

Hey dude,

No worries about being new; we've all started somewhere.

- The 1761-NET-ENI was discontinued in 2015. I would not advise installing it in any system due to increased cost and low availability on the market. In a few years, you'll have to buy this on eBay.

- In terms of the system you've described, I would advise migrating toward a new controller / HMI that are natively on EtherNet/IP. I would think that your monitoring project should be able to justify the cost of a CompactLogix controller (Ex: 1769-L24ER-QB1B) and a new HMI screen.

If you're going to stick to the MicroLogix 1200, it's possible to make it work on dual channels. one would connect to the HMI, the other to the EtherNet module.

Also, keep in mind that the ENI module is "questionable"... It can only service 4 (maybe 8?) connections from what I can remember which includes your PC when you're programming. I've seen sites that would exceed the number and cause problems on the controller.

All the best...
Vlad