Modbus TCP/IP extended Addressing - Unity Pro

the18

Hello,

P.S: I am new to this Forum, please excuse me if i ma writing in the wrong section or if i used something that isn't accepted within this community.

I am new with Unity pro, and i am adding a DTM Connection with Modbus TCP/IP protocole.

So i already connected successfully a PowerLogic PM5330 and i am reading Data without any problems.
Now I am trying to connect A P3U30, my problem is that P3U30 uses extended Addressses exemple "403020" and the RD address field in unity pro DTM request only accept 5 numbers, so i am assuming it is not created for extended addressing, please any one got a solution ?.

Best Regards and many thanks to you all.

Caapture.PNG

Welcome to the forum !

Traditionally Modbus use 5 digit addressing, then the Holding Register area address is 4xxxx where xxxx is a based 1 decimal offset, that has the limitation that the offset cannot be greater than 9999.
To avoid that some implementations switch to 6 digit addressing (4xxxxx) that allows offset > 9999

In your case using "43020" on Unity Pro should work

Last edited:
Thank you for your answer and quick reply,

So in my trial to read the Frequency from P3U30 i tried the following settings:

- 402021 as the register address couldn't enter it.
- 42021 as the register address, no response.
- 2021 as the register address, still no luck.
- 2020 as the register address, because in the PM5330 it only worked if i did (address - 1), so i tried it just in case... no luck sadly.

I attached a screen of the P3U30 register list so you get a better idea.

Thank you again for your time.
Best Regards.

Caapture.PNG

If you have an Android phone or tablet and the installation has a Wi-Fi access point, you can use also my signature HMI app to do quick tests. It uses 6 digit 4xxxxx addressing

Last edited:
I would think that if reading 3109 is successful, then reading 4021 in this case would work, too, because that's indexed register value.