New to PLC's and have a very basic question

Etang858

Hello Everyone,

I am brand new to PLC's (learned they even existed 3 days ago) and have gone through the tutorial on this site. I am a little confused and was hoping for some clarification.

My question regards the basic communication between PLC, computer and actuators.

1. Lets say I purchase a PLC and need it to move an actuator. The PLC will connect to the actuator via its inputs and outputs and the computer will connect to the PLC via 'something'. The PLC then has software where I can do ladder programming on my laptop, (This is how I assume this system would all connect).

Is this software able to communicate with the PLCs or is it purely for ladder logic?
Is there another type of software/communication protocol I need to actually have the PC communicate with the actuator?

I've seen some stuff about MODBUS, OPC servers and OPC-aware software and that's where I get confused.

I know these are basic questions but any help would be appreciated.

If you guys know of any other good sites where I can learn about PLC's and choosing PLC's for applications, it would be much appreciated!

Thank you!

1. Lets say I purchase a PLC and need it to move an actuator. The PLC will connect to the actuator via its inputs and outputs and the computer will connect to the PLC via 'something'. The PLC then has software where I can do ladder programming on my laptop, (This is how I assume this system would all connect).

The Computer will connect to the PLC via some kind of Communications. This is a varied as the PLC Manufacturer and Model.

It might be Ethernet, Serial RS-232 or RS-422, AB DH+ or DH485, Modbus Serial or TCP, and on it goes. This will depend on the Manufacturer, Model, and Options, and is part of the buying decision.

The Programming Software runs in your Computer, not in the PLC. The PLC Program that you write with the PLC Programming Software runs in the PLC.