PC as a Profibus Master

imanqush

Hello everyone. I'm really new to automation protocols as the industry I'm working in had been using parallel interface for ages and very conservative in changing to new interface.

Currently, I have to build a test environment using Profibus DP with our control equipment (slave) and a master that is yet to be decide. Is it possible to use a PC as a Master?

From what at I understand, I will be needing a RS485 bus driver and a software /interface for my PC. Is there any software/interface recommendation?

I also have an extra Yokogawa PLC at office but without software and Profibus Module. Buying a software and a module from Yokogawa might be pricier that's why I'm wondering if I can just use my PC as a cheaper alternative.

Any thoughts?

Hello. Although the physical layer of Profibus is RS485, the data link layer of Profibus is realy complex to develop in PC software. Profibus devices use ASICs in between the RS485 driver and the application. In the case of a Windows PC, there are products such as Softing PCI or PCIexpress boards which have a CPU with a Profibus master or Profibus slave firmware, and on the Windows side a driver with application programming interface is provided so it is possible to write an application that initializes the Profibus master and controls the communication with the Profibus slave. A configuration tool is also provided to configure the network. I am based in Yokohama and you seem to be in Tokyo so we seem to be very close. I can loan you a Profibus PCI or PCIexpress board so you can test the board. I can provide you support for this board as well. If you are interested, you can PM me and I will get back to you privately.

Last edited:
This sounds like a new upgrade development project. If so then maybe Profibus isn't the best choice? How about a TCP connection between your PC and a slave device?

Nick