Reading Data Log files in VB2008?

Isaacx

Ok guys, I need to write an HMI program in VB express 2008 that will allow the user to input different profiles and get different charts and graphs (.csv files). My question is whether or not the DLG instruction is the best way to do this, and then somehow in VB, access that file. Or, can I just send all the data to new registers (N12 for example) and somehow read that entire register when the user wants the data? Keep in mind that I am pretty new to both VB and Logix, so help in the programming/syntax of both would be greatly appreciated.

Oh, equipment! It's a Micrologix 1400 BXB with a 1762 IF4 and 1762 OF4...I'm using ethernet connections. If you need anything else, just let me know.

Isaacx,
Once the data is in .CSV format I just use Excel & macro to get the charts/graphs. I use the RedLion G3 HMI to log the data to a compact flash card. The log files on the flash card can then be transfered via FTP to any PC on the Ethernet network. Of course the graph can be viewed on the HMI as well.

If you intend to use VBExpress to build a graphing/charting user interface from scratch, then my hats off to you because that is way over my capabilities.

Rockwell makes a software package that database logs & then presents in pretty/flexable HTML based charts. It's called BizWare. It can cost many thosands of dollars to purchase & setup, but is very slick once running.

BD

Thanks for the info guys...unfortunately, most of it I can't utilize. Our customer has an existing test system consisting of a cylinder controlled by a bidirectional valve that we are automating via the 1400. Therefore, they are doing this as low-cost as possible, so I have to work within the confines of their system.