Setting up Traps in PLC to find whats stopping conveyors

stayclashy80

Hello everyone,
So I need help setting up traps in Studio 5000. Disclaimer I'm an intermediate PLC programmer so I need lots of help and I need to learn a lot. My initial plan was just to use a one shot based on conveyor running status bit and then a bunch of MOV instructions to send data to newly created storage tags. Problem was I needed bit data not word data and I couldn't use bit data for the MOV instruction. I looked around and found OSR instruction ( one shot rising ) and it said it has a storage bit. I tried this and got scared because the conveyors started having transients so I removed the code. So now I need to know if the OSR actually changes the value of bits or not. I noticed in cross reference it was referenced as "destructive" type. I'm not sure what that means either. Any help would be greatly appreciated.I attached a screen shot of the logic I had in temporarily. Thanks so much. You guys are awesome and always help me out so much.

SMN1 trap logic.png

What I've done in the past if I have a bunch of bits in series controlling a single enable bit...

Add a rung directly ABOVE the rung that controls the enable bit. The first instruction on the rung should be the ENABLE bit so your new rung is active only when the ENABLE bit is true. Then, have an output branch for each bit that can make the ENABLE bit turn off. If any bit is in a state to stop the enable bit, have it latch (OTL) a LATCH bit. The next rung to be executed will turn off the ENABLE bit, which means that the latched bit will indicate what made the ENABLE bit turn off. If you want a history, have the LATCH bits be part of a word that you MOV to a storage word when the ENABLE bit is re-enabled, right before writing a 0 to the LATCH bit word to get it ready for the next stop.

I may be able to post an example or better description tomorrow.

>now I need to know if the OSR actually changes the value of bits or not.