Siemens and SICK Encoder

tlaferriere

Hello all,
Let me start by saying that although I have been working with PLCs for 20+ years I am very (as in brand) new to the Siemens world (my wheelhouse is AB). That being said I have a Siemens S7-1500 (1511 specifically) CPU with a couple of SICK multi-turn Profi-Net encoders (AFM60A-S4NB018x12) that I need to talk to.
- I am using TIA v13 with all of the updates.
- I have the GSD file from SICK for the encoder.
- I have no clue what I am doing
- I can see the encoder values update in the watch table as I move the encoder.

All fine and dandy so far... Here's where the white flag is going up....
- I am of the belief that there are existing function blocks out there 'somewhere' that can read and write to the base parameters. I have contacted our local rep who deferred me to SICK. I have emailed and left messages with them and have not gotten a return anything thus far.

Here's our application... We are attaching each encoder to its own rotary gear mechanism. The rotary will need to turn in the CW direction approximately 400 degrees then return to its start point by rotating in the CCW direction by the same amount. If/When production/maintenance needs to 'rehome' the assembly, the expectation is that they 'pin' the drive in a known location then a bit would be set within the CPU that would assign a specific value to the encoder's actual position.
In the SICK manual (8015078/YIX6/2015-01-16) on page 31 (section 3.6.3) there is reference to Preset control. This is what I believe we need to perform the aforementioned function.

Does anyone have any examples that they could share on how to read/write to these encoders by use of a Function Block or other?

Relatively desperate for help at this point.

Thank you in advance,
TLAF

I don't know if this will help but...
Look into WRREC, this is write record. The structure appears to be on page 25 in the manual (or the one I saw)