Siemens MP 277 Touch With Sm@rtService Alternatives

woodj313

I'm currently in the phase of specing a new project. It will be fairly simple setup to monitor tank levels.

I will be using a S7-1200 as the PLC. First time using a 1200, they are so cheap.

I'v have prior experience using Siemens MP277/377 with Sm@rtService option installed. I like the email and web browsing capabilities it provides. Looking for something in the range of either 10" or 12".

However I have been looking at Red Lion's G3 line and wondered what some of you guy's thoughts are on using that as an alternative, namely its web capabilities and use with S7-1200. I've never used any Red Lion products before.

I'm also open to any other comparible options as well.

Thanks in advance!

Consider the new "comfort panel" series from Siemens.
They have basically the same functionality as the MP panels, except they are far less expensive. Only drawback as I see it is that you cannot install WinAC MP. And since you dont use WinAC MP, then it is not an issue.
Also see my review of the KP700.

Consider the new "comfort panel" series from Siemens.
They have basically the same functionality as the MP panels, except they are far less expensive. Only drawback as I see it is that you cannot install WinAC MP. And since you dont use WinAC MP, then it is not an issue.
Also see my review of the KP700.

I'm already running S7 V5.5 and Wincc Flex 2008 sp2. I was looking to purchase S7 Basic V11 for this project but that it only includes WinCC Basic.

Hows the new WinCC V11 to work with compared to WinCC Flex? I may look into of the starter kits for this.

Hows the new WinCC V11 to work with compared to WinCC Flex? I may look into of the starter kits for this.
Very very similar. I wrote something about it in the TIA Portal review. I find the WinCC part more 'finished' than the STEP7 part.