Simatic S5 need help

Im just new in PLCs , currently im working for a Steel Mill company here in the Philippines. Were are still using Simatic S5 for our automation. Our S5 PLC is integrated with Danieli Ceda Automation. Last week , one of our main motor’s magnetic contactor got busted when we shut down the motor( motor is 1,200 HP , running on 3.3KV) and from then on our main PLC used for mill speed control displays the following:

• CPU 948 is in stop status. We can set this to run but when we transfer blocks (starting OB1) it switches back to stop ( flashing) and BASP LED is lit.
  • IM 308B (6ES5-308-3UB11) card , BF LED is flashing. It is connected to two IM 318 modules (s5 also) and this modules Bus fault LED is also lit.

Other cards with it on the rack shows no error, Communications processor (6GK11 , I forgot the whole number) , 6ES5-300, 6ES5-312, input output cards (digital and analog)

Ive read that BF LED flashes when there is a problem with one of the slaves, or the profibus connector is not connected. So we tried replacing the profibus cables, the profibus connectors, the IM308B card, the IM 318 modules. We assume that there may be a problem with the IM308 configuration , we tried to access it with the use of COM profibus V5.1 but still we are unable to access it. We may need an older version of software for it

I hope that someone could give us any suggestion on how to solve this problem or help us acquiring necessary software that we may need. I think we need old versions of COM ET200 or COM Profibus.

Currently our plant is on total shut down because of this so I hope someone could help us. We already consulted with local Siemens Technical people but still no one was able to help us. (maybe tools needed is not anymore available for this old S5). I hope to hear from someone soon. Please post it in here or email me at [email protected].

Last edited:
Can you go online and look at the "Stacks" to determine the error?