TIA Portal : best practices/variable scope questions

nyanpasu

Hi everyone.

I am very new to TIA Portal, and I come mostly from the Rockwell world.

I have a question regarding program structure. For some reason the "everything is an FB" concept confuses me.

I am mapping I/O to FBs representing diverse equipment modules (motors, valves, transmitters, etc, let's say the motor FB is FB1).

In Rockwell, I would either create the AOIs as controller scoped and alias them inside relevant programs where I need them or create them as local scope inside the relevant program (equipment section like a silo, would have a section where the AOIs for the valves, mixer, transmitters, etc would be called, as well as an interface for other programs to access in order for all the logic to stay in one place and be more portable).

I'm looking for best practices to use the module FBs I/O inside subsequent sequence or machine logic FBs.

While playing around with the software, having no idea what I'm doing, I've created IO mapping FBs (call them FB10, etc) per module type that call the individual module FBs as multi-instance (instances are created as "static" inside FB10). I then have a bunch of calls to FB1 inside FB10. The IO mapping FBs are then called in an IO FB (FB100) as multi-instance (instances are created as "static"), which is in turn called in OB1 as single-instance FB (which created a DB for it - DB100). I've then created a "test" FB (FB200) called in OB1 that has this last IO FB as an InOut parameter, which also created a DB200 for it, but it only contains the InOut reference.