Using PLC to control hydraulic movement

The OP doesn't need a top of the line control system but he does need one that is good enough. I could do the control in the PLC but I have a lot of experience at this and that makes a HUGE difference. The application isn't that difficult. The problem is that the gains are different going up and going down. The PLC has no target generator.
I just got back from China. Over there they use simple PID control and limit the output to get the speed limit. This way they don't need a target generator. Feed forwards aren't commonly understood or used.

An RMC75S-QA1 would probably be overkill, but I could get it running in just a few minutes.
http://deltamotion.com/products/motion/rmc70/
The PawTawJohn control relies on using a MDT so that is out.

There is a sawmill trade show in Portland this week.
the forward speed and all other controls are manual hydraulic valves. Would like to have seen the trade show. Pretty fair skip from here.

Perhaps an encoder on the system and a simple counter to position.
He does not need positionability, but repeatability and the count can be determined by moving and counting.
The count can be determined for each position and the hydraulic stop valve be closed at the several points needed as determined.
A simple pointer to the desired count would be all that is necessary.
A PID might be overkill for this job.
If he positioned every inch the count for each inch determined and stored for the counter/positioner.
A hydraulic stop valve would be pretty solidly held in position.
for 12 inch coverage twelve counts.
Those counts may not be evenly distributed due to geometric inconsistencies.
Each could be changed to fine tune the system.
A little math would let you change one and add/subtract the difference from the others.

the forward speed and all other controls are manual hydraulic valves. Would like to have seen the trade show. Pretty fair skip from here.