You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 27th, 2018, 10:55 AM   #1
A_G
Member
United States

A_G is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 252
Siemens Translation Tool

I'm using Siemens TIA Portal to program an HMI. It has to be able to switch between English and Chinese. There is TIA Translation Tool download available from Siemens that sounds like it can do the translations automatically. But, after downloading it and reading the manual, I can not figure out how it works. I think I need to add Chinese to the Dictionaries first, and only then can the Translation Tool do the translations. But I can not find any Dictionaries downloads anywhere. Anyone know how this works? Thanks in advance.

This is the Translation Tool:

https://support.industry.siemens.com...ti=0&lc=en-WW#!
  Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2018, 04:01 AM   #2
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,944
Do you have the dictionaries mentioned on that website installed?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2018, 06:11 AM   #3
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,918
Hmmmmm..... A tool that translates from one language to another, fully automatically ?
Even with a dictionary, I dont see how it can be done. So many words are ambiguous.
And if you dont read chinese, there is no way to check the result.
I can check german, english, spanish, and in a pinch also italian, french and portuguese. For the latter I cannot translate the correct text, but I can see when something is wrong.
But for chinese or any other asian language, no chance.

We always export the texts to an Excel file, and send it to a professional translator. When the translator encounters a word that can mean several things, he sends me a mail for clarification.

BTW, creating and maintaining HMIs in multiple languages is a PITA !!
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2018, 07:28 AM   #4
A_G
Member
United States

A_G is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 252
Thanks for the replies. No, I don't think I have any Dictionaries installed. I tried to find Dictionaries downloads on the Siemens website but could not find any. So I don't understand where the Dictionaries are supposed to come from.

I agree that maybe some of the automatic translations may be wrong, but I think some other HMI software does automatic translations too. (FTView ME and Indusoft used to).
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help backing up Siemens Equipment dpurtill LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 27th, 2015 02:10 PM
connecting Siemens S7 via Moxa convertor imurphy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 June 5th, 2015 09:40 AM
Siemens PLC Controller_Guy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 June 2nd, 2015 04:05 AM
Siemens and Primary Setup Tool kbradray LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 10th, 2010 10:36 AM
Siemens Pro Tool Pro Problem jvjr LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 January 10th, 2009 06:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 AM.


.