Grounding v/s Sheilding

Bering C Sparky

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello,
Not really PLC related but I know alot of you out there also have industrial backgrounds, so here goes.

We are going to be installing new electric winches to replace existing Hyd. winches.
I am just finishing my cable list to make an order and one question I asked back to the engineer at the winch company is "why do you only speck ground cable be run with the feeder cables from the distribution panel to the VFD cabinets and not from the VFD cabinets to the motors.
(220 kw motors 440vac 3ph)

His reply was the sheilding on the power cables is used as the ground wire. (!!!!WHAT!!!!)
(We are using Lapp FD90CY single conductor cables run in parallel)

To borrow a phrase from Forest Gump "I am not a smart man" and I dont claim to be able to resite the NEC or other code, nor do I have an engineering degree but I simply do not believe that this is correct.

I have done some google'ing and brushed through 250 in NFPA70 but have not yet found anything to say specifically that this is right or wrong, but common sense alone says this cant be the correct way.
(I can find lots of articals that somewhat say you cant do this, like conductor size for PE, min size wire allowed to be paralleled, etc, but nothing specific about using the sheild as ground conductor.

I am going to install seperate grounding conductors anyway so I am not really worried what he says, but I am currious if anyone else knows if this is a standard practice or not.
If it is not does anyone know if it is even legal, where can I find something in writing to say this is right or wrong.
If this is a correct and legal use, I will eat my proverbial hat.
I will keep looking but I cant waste too much time on it.

Note: Winch Company and Engineer are not based in USA.

Thanks for any input.
BCS

I dont know your NEC laws
As far as using the cable shield as a ground,
this is not as uncommon as you may think.