You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 18th, 2021, 11:10 AM   #1
CENTER
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

CENTER is offline
 
CENTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 76
Quick Question

Has anyone come across a 3 turn potentiometer that is panal mounted with either a 22 or 30 mm hole? I have been looking but nothing so far.
They are destroying the standard pot with the vernier dial.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2021, 11:12 AM   #2
_Dock_
Member
United States

_Dock_ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: KY
Posts: 486
https://www.automationdirect.com/adc...ers/ecx2300-5k

There is a 10K in 22mm Also.

I used these once but the cycles weren't high so I cant really comment on its robustness.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2021, 11:16 AM   #3
CENTER
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

CENTER is offline
 
CENTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 76
Thank you but I need a 3 turn.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2021, 11:17 AM   #4
_Dock_
Member
United States

_Dock_ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: KY
Posts: 486
Nevermind, my brain skipped over the 3 turn portion of your post.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2021, 12:42 PM   #5
jaden
Member
United States

jaden is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pleasant Dale, Nebraska
Posts: 226
C3 Controls has a pot operator that you may be able to modify for a 3 turn pot.

[URL="https://www.c3controls.com/products/potentiometer-operators"
  Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2021, 08:44 PM   #6
CENTER
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

CENTER is offline
 
CENTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 76
Thanks you
can't configure a multi turn pot. I have done 6 other lines for the same company at a different local with a HMI but these guys want pots, they don't think the operators can comprehend a HMI.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2021, 09:03 PM   #7
GaryS
Member
United States

GaryS is offline
 
GaryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 1,586
what's the deal with just 3 turns
What about using as MOP ( Motor Operated Pot )
I have install many 10 turn pots with a 3 digit display they worked very well I don't get a call for them much not the PLC's are cheaper and easier to use.
it would seam to me that any multi turn pot would be confusing without some kind of a reference to know the position it was left at.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2021, 09:34 PM   #8
CENTER
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

CENTER is offline
 
CENTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 76
What can I tell you, The OEM 25 years ago used 3 turn pots. Just was looking for something that will hold up better.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2021, 10:45 PM   #9
drbitboy
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

drbitboy is offline
 
drbitboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by CENTER View Post
The OEM 25 years ago used 3 turn pots. Just was looking for something that will hold up better.
I think this wins the dry humour award for the week.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2021, 06:32 AM   #10
drforsythe
Member
United States

drforsythe is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Metro Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 147
We use multi turn pots on some of our simpler lines that do not have PLCs or HMIs. I have had good luck using standard multi-turn pots with a Vishay indicating knob. Or is this the vernier dial that they are destroying? Once we instructed our installers to install them properly, we have had better results. https://www.alliedelec.com/product/v...1b10/70404551/
I have not found multi turn pots in standard 22.5 or 30.5 mm mounting, just the single turn models.

This one here from Precision Sales looks interesting. I may have to try one of these. http://www.precisionsales.com/counti...s/pdf/dc22.pdf

Last edited by drforsythe; February 19th, 2021 at 06:37 AM. Reason: Added second link to Prec. Sales pot and knob
  Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2021, 11:23 AM   #11
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 6,360
Some on this page from Vishay Dale http://https://www.vishay.com/docs/4...vmn-ms6595.pdf
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2021, 12:30 PM   #12
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 6,360
The PDF link seemed to have problems. Not sure why. Posting actual PDF.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 49111_vmn-ms6595.pdf (1.12 MB, 21 views)
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2021, 01:30 PM   #13
plvlce
Member
United States

plvlce is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by bernie_carlton View Post
The PDF link seemed to have problems. Not sure why.
Your actual link (what's inside the 'URL' tag) begins https// where it should be https:// (i.e. it's missing the colon).

EDIT: The corrected link is https://www.vishay.com/docs/49111/49111_vmn-ms6595.pdf

Last edited by plvlce; February 19th, 2021 at 01:32 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2021, 10:39 PM   #14
CENTER
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

CENTER is offline
 
CENTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 76
They do get replaced. I was looking for something as a one piece. Mainly the vernier key or the pot shaft slips. They constantly run them up and down 24/7 they are very tough on them. That is why they don't want a HMI. I have seen them using a knife on a key pad of a counter and management wonders why they don't hold up. If they don't want to do anything about it not much I can do. I just thought I may be able to inprove what they have.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 0903191719.jpg (205.7 KB, 24 views)
File Type: jpg 0217210947_HDR.jpg (217.0 KB, 24 views)

Last edited by CENTER; February 19th, 2021 at 11:01 PM. Reason: screwed up
  Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2021, 12:49 AM   #15
Soggy Canuck
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

Soggy Canuck is offline
 
Soggy Canuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 207
From what you are describing as failure modes, it sounds like the operators are hitting the mechincal limits on the pots quite hard. It might be worth your while to investigate either bourns or clarostat to see if either offer a clutched variant. The only drawback will be a misalignment of the pot to the vernier if they really slam into a limit.

Another trick might be replacing the pot with a manual pulse generator talking to a HSC input on a PLC. Might get pricy on the PLC if you have a bunch of them to do, but if you're only looking at a couple it wouldn't be to bad.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick RSLogix 500 question kjacoby LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 December 17th, 2011 12:21 AM
Quick Question about Counters DKahmer LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 August 11th, 2011 03:58 PM
Quick and easy Mitsubishi question. metaxus LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 February 26th, 2009 04:28 PM
control net question real quick for yous plcnewbie LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 November 15th, 2005 10:26 PM
Quick question New2PLCs LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 May 13th, 2002 05:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 PM.


.