You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 18th, 2021, 10:07 AM   #1
Bilbo1161
Member
United Kingdom

Bilbo1161 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 46
Unable to communicate between Versamax Micro and Redlion Data Station Plus

Can anyone help me getting this comms connection set up?

I am using Port 2 on the Versamax ICU200UDR005-DK, set in SNP with port settings
Baud Rate 19k2
Stop Bits 1
Parity Odd
SNP ID 1

In the Redlion I am using SNP Master
Comms Settings 19k2
Baud Rate 19k2
Stop Bits 1
Parity Odd
SNP ID 1

Port Set to RS485 4 wire

I have made a cable up to run from the Redlion to Versamax as follows

Versamax 15 Pin D plug RedLion RJ45
7-----------------------------------------6
10 ---------------------------------------8
11----------------------------------------7
12----------------------------------------3
13----------------------------------------4



Using this configuration I cant appear to get any flicker of comms on the comms port indications.

Any help would be appreciated
  Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2021, 10:27 AM   #2
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 7,566
The meaning of the VersaMax pin designations is not intuitive. They use the terms A and B for polarity where A is - and B is +. If the Red Lion uses + and - to designate polarity it is easy to get them connected wrong. I tend to think positive/negative corresponds to A/B, but that's wrong for the GE side.

I don't have the pinouts for the Red Lion at hand, but that's the first thing I'd check.

So on the GE side:
Pin 10 = Received data -
Pin 11 = Received data +
Pin 12 = Transmitted data -
Pin 13 = Transmitted data +
  Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2021, 05:39 PM   #3
Bilbo1161
Member
United Kingdom

Bilbo1161 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 46
Red lion connections are
3 RxA
4 RxB
6 Ground
7 TxB
8 TxA

I think that makes the cable connections correct?

Could I be doing anything else wrong?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2021, 06:06 PM   #4
Bilbo1161
Member
United Kingdom

Bilbo1161 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 46
Just found this, I’ll try these connections tomorrow.
http://www.redlion.net/sites/default.../GE-SNP-G3.pdf
  Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2021, 06:28 PM   #5
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 7,566
Interesting that the transmit lines from the Red Lion are shown on two pairs of pins.

With your existing cable are you sure you've properly identified pins 1 and 8 on the RJ45 end? I've been burned by that in the past.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 AM.


.