You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 22nd, 2021, 01:33 PM   #1
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,969
VFD cable install?

I have a VFD rated for 125HP at 480V. After the VFD, there is a sine wave filter, then a 480/240 150KVA transformer, before the 100HP motor running at 240V.
Is VFD cable required here, and if so... how should the shields be grounded, or wired, at each device?
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
I have a condition called "The Knack".
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8vHhgh6oM0&t=2s

Last edited by NetNathan; October 22nd, 2021 at 01:52 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2021, 04:59 PM   #2
thingstodo
Member
Canada

thingstodo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetNathan View Post
I have a VFD rated for 125HP at 480V. After the VFD, there is a sine wave filter, then a 480/240 150KVA transformer, before the 100HP motor running at 240V.
Is VFD cable required here, and if so... how should the shields be grounded, or wired, at each device?

VFD cable is important in long cable runs (if you want wireless stuff to work properly anywhere near it!). For short runs (particularly if the cable does not exit the VFD enclosure) I would not bother with the expense and the problems training the electricians in terminating the extra 2 grounds and the shield.


After the sine wave filter you *FOR SURE* don't need VFD cable.


100 HP at 240VAC? That works out to .. . around 300 amps? I don't think I've seen a transformer that size inside a panel.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2021, 05:46 PM   #3
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by thingstodo View Post
VFD cable is important in long cable runs (if you want wireless stuff to work properly anywhere near it!). For short runs (particularly if the cable does not exit the VFD enclosure) I would not bother with the expense and the problems training the electricians in terminating the extra 2 grounds and the shield.


After the sine wave filter you *FOR SURE* don't need VFD cable.


100 HP at 240VAC? That works out to .. . around 300 amps? I don't think I've seen a transformer that size inside a panel.
it is an external transformer. I have to run the motor at 240V due to NFPA 86 (Standard for ovens and furnaces) because it is enclosed in an Argon atmosphere.
Is is a big cost savings to run the VFD on the 480V primary side of the transformer.
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
I have a condition called "The Knack".
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8vHhgh6oM0&t=2s
  Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2021, 07:14 PM   #4
Saffa
Member
New Zealand

Saffa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay of Plenty
Posts: 1,280
Between the drive and the sinus filter, definitely. After that, no need.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2021, 07:32 PM   #5
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saffa View Post
Between the drive and the sinus filter, definitely. After that, no need.
The sine wave filter is only about 18" from the drive. In the same enclosure.
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
I have a condition called "The Knack".
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8vHhgh6oM0&t=2s
  Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2021, 12:43 AM   #6
rupej
Member
United States

rupej is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 913
I've never heard of running a drive output through a transformer. Have you done that before? I was curious if low frequencies would cause issues. Or is it effectively the same effect as a load reactor?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2021, 12:49 AM   #7
Saffa
Member
New Zealand

Saffa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay of Plenty
Posts: 1,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetNathan View Post
The sine wave filter is only about 18" from the drive. In the same enclosure.
Ah sorry, I missed this fact. If your control cables are shielded, and separately run away from the power cable then all good.

Ventilation is probably your most important consideration, those sinus filters generate some substantial heat.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2021, 12:49 AM   #8
thingstodo
Member
Canada

thingstodo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by rupej View Post
I've never heard of running a drive output through a transformer. Have you done that before? I was curious if low frequencies would cause issues. Or is it effectively the same effect as a load reactor?

After the sine wave filter, the high frequencies are almost gone. The transformer does it's thing ... lower voltage higher current ...


We had a different setup for a test. A 600 HP low voltage VFD fed to a step-up transformer that ran a 5 KV motor. I was surprised ... but it worked well, at least for the 3 month test.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2021, 01:55 AM   #9
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by rupej View Post
I've never heard of running a drive output through a transformer. Have you done that before? I was curious if low frequencies would cause issues. Or is it effectively the same effect as a load reactor?
Used many times, but have been curious if i should be using shielded VFD output cables in this use. I did not really think so, just wanted views.
I have actually started using more 480V motors (inductive wound) and not the sine wave filter and stepdown transformer. In those instances, yes I am using shielded VFD motor cable.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saffa View Post
Ah sorry, I missed this fact. If your control cables are shielded, and separately run away from the power cable then all good.

Ventilation is probably your most important consideration, those sinus filters generate some substantial heat.
As far as shielding, I was only referring to if I really needed to use shielded VFD output cables. Control is Profinet.
Yes, the enclosure is well ventilated.
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
I have a condition called "The Knack".
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8vHhgh6oM0&t=2s
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VFD stop mode options on a pallet hoist? bikerdude LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 27 August 30th, 2015 11:27 PM
Grounding v/s Sheilding Bering C Sparky LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 35 August 7th, 2014 04:28 PM
VFD to Motor Starter nathanht LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 July 14th, 2008 04:08 PM
OT: Cable increases resistance over time... (Mystery) Warren Boswell LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 May 24th, 2008 01:10 PM
VFD -- Reverse only one of two motors leitmotif LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 September 25th, 2007 02:41 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:12 PM.


.