You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 22nd, 2021, 10:07 AM   #1
Jim G.
Member
United States

Jim G. is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 151
OT- Equipment feed

We have a new line being added in one of our facilities. In our switch gear, we have a spare 400A breaker which we were going to use to feed power to the line. The OEM spec's state they only need a 125A feed. Which would be the better approach? Replace the 400A breaker with a 125A or feed a sub-panel with 400A service and install a 125A breaker in that panel?
Is this a matter of opinion or are there some NEC guidelines to consider?


Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2021, 11:22 AM   #2
roxusa
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

roxusa is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 884
Personally and from experience I would go the sub panel route. I have ran 400 and 200 amp sub panels for all our new lines. Not knowing what all your lines consist of but mine they are always wanting to add some other little piece to the puzzle and I have a sub panel to add more.
__________________
B.Pedersen
if you are going to assume, assume you're wrong.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2021, 06:57 AM   #3
forqnc
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

forqnc is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Elizabeth City
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by roxusa View Post
Personally and from experience I would go the sub panel route. I have ran 400 and 200 amp sub panels for all our new lines. Not knowing what all your lines consist of but mine they are always wanting to add some other little piece to the puzzle and I have a sub panel to add more.
+1
After a new line is installed and improvements start coming, having the extra power will come in handy.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2021, 11:06 AM   #4
Jim G.
Member
United States

Jim G. is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 151
Thanks for the input.


Will go with a sub-panel installation for the convenience of "while you're at it, can you add this?"
  Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2021, 01:05 PM   #5
mylespetro
Supporting Member
Canada

mylespetro is offline
 
mylespetro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: NS
Posts: 365
I agree with roxusa, it'll cost more upfront but it'll save money down the line when (not if) things need to be added.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT - 690V equipment in Canada zankorel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 March 28th, 2012 07:41 AM
OT Safety on portable equipment Caveman LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 December 1st, 2010 11:08 AM
OT? OLE and InTouch sfindley LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 16th, 2010 09:38 AM
Festoon Cable with Shielded Twisted Pair (4-20mA encoder on moving equipment) ptine LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 April 19th, 2007 02:29 PM
"new" equipment arriving today danatech LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 25 January 24th, 2005 07:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:17 PM.


.