You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 15th, 2021, 04:02 PM   #1
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,917
Ignition or FactoryTalk

Pros and Cons?
Multiple client (32) installation
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
I have a condition called "The Knack".

Last edited by NetNathan; April 15th, 2021 at 04:23 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2021, 04:38 PM   #2
VAN
Member
United States

VAN is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 452
Ignition is great but I don't recall if you can deploy only some screens or have access control based on panel/location. This isn't a big deterrent as you could VNC into an HMI from another location as well.

If I get the opportunity I'd work with Ignition over FactoryTalk.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2021, 06:04 PM   #3
Paullys50
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Paullys50 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: WI
Posts: 2,180
Ignition fanboy here so I'll say Ignition, but...

Perspective/Vision is something you need to evaluate. Perspective is a different beast when it comes to GUI design and approach. Vision is tried and true and familiar. Perspective is the future, Vision won't get much more attention for features updates.

If you are all about PlantPAx then FactoryTalk I guess.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2021, 06:59 PM   #4
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,363
I've used both and will never willingly choose FTView again.

For 32 clients, the cost savings alone would be enough to send me to Ignition.

There are definitely ways to handle access control based on location in Ignition.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2021, 07:31 PM   #5
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,917
Rockwell salesman claims they can buy a one-time Factory Talk site license (no annual fee?) that will cover them for 10 years on upgrades?
They are planning on using thin client licenses....
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
I have a condition called "The Knack".
  Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2021, 07:46 PM   #6
josalz
Member
United States

josalz is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Posts: 10
After working with both products, I would highly recommend Ignition over FactoryTalk. The amount of bugs, inconsistent operation, and server reboots I have had to do to resolve problems over the last 10 years is mind-numbing with FactoryTalk. Ignition is much more stable in my experience, and is drastically cheaper when you're designing a large installation (20+ clients). Just my 2 cents.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2021, 07:51 PM   #7
Phrog30
Member
United States

Phrog30 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 861
Not even close contest, Ignition. If you have used both before you wouldn't need to ask that question.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2021, 09:52 PM   #8
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetNathan View Post
Rockwell salesman claims they can buy a one-time Factory Talk site license (no annual fee?) that will cover them for 10 years on upgrades?
They are planning on using thin client licenses....
If for some reason you DO go that way, make absolutely sure you get that in writing, signed off by the highest ranking person at your salesman's company you can find. I would not trust that claim an inch.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2021, 10:12 PM   #9
DwSoFt
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

DwSoFt is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 948
ignition, all day any day


i agree, if you have worked with both, the answer will be clear


not even is the pricing better,



but i dont feel held back by ignition like i do FTView.


With Ignition, i can do anything i want.
__________________
Dan Wiebe
-----------------
Automation Manager
Focal Automation
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 12:23 AM   #10
GaryS
Member
United States

GaryS is offline
 
GaryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 1,650
If I am not mistaken you need a run time license on each machine for either of those
with that many machines that could get to be very expensive
I look else where No runtime license build and deploy as many machines as you want

https://ingeardrivers.com/

Ys it dose take some learning time in the beginning but it's worth it in the end
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 01:53 AM   #11
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryS View Post
If I am not mistaken you need a run time license on each machine for either of those
with that many machines that could get to be very expensive
I look else where No runtime license build and deploy as many machines as you want

https://ingeardrivers.com/

Ys it dose take some learning time in the beginning but it's worth it in the end
With Ignition you only license the gateway (server), not the clients/sessions (runtimes).


A gateway license with unlimited clients is either $6,500 or $9,500, depending on whether you're going Vision or Perspective.

Obviously other modules are required as well, but the vision/perspective one is the only one that has any cost implication regarding the number of clients.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 03:10 AM   #12
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by VAN View Post
Ignition is great but I don't recall if you can deploy only some screens or have access control based on panel/location. This isn't a big deterrent as you could VNC into an HMI from another location as well.
I seem to remember from their training course that you can limit what is available to be used/seen from a specific terminal. As I remember it used a different type of variable (session??) to determine where the screens were being displayed to control what was shown.

To be fair, the way FactoryTalk limits the screens available is through not having a navigation button to some screen, which isn't that fancy either.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paullys50 View Post
If you are all about PlantPAx then FactoryTalk I guess.
Have you used Flintium? Looking at it online it seems pretty close to the PlantPAX faceplates and elements. The only issue is Rockwell closing PlantPAX with 5.0. Give it another 3 years and PlantPAX is another DeltaV.

It's plainly visible that Ignition has software smarts and they're not in the PLC business or possibly interested, but putting a team of 3 or 4 guys together and creating an Ignition process library that would work across Rockwell, Siemens, potentially Schneider and even Beckhoff/Codesys would get an awful lot of people interested in moving away from these companies SCADA part of the DCS package. I really can't understand why they don't commit some of their R&D to it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetNathan View Post
Rockwell salesman claims they can buy a one-time Factory Talk site license (no annual fee?) that will cover them for 10 years on upgrades?
They are planning on using thin client licenses....
Rockwell salesman is probably assuming a TechConnect contract...
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 06:33 AM   #13
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 5,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetNathan View Post
Rockwell salesman claims they can buy a one-time Factory Talk site license (no annual fee?) that will cover them for 10 years on upgrades?
They are planning on using thin client licenses....

He's Lying.


Show him the door, and go Ignition.
__________________
------------------------------------
How to ask questions the SMART Way!

Look First, Ask Second!

  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 01:55 PM   #14
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardosocea View Post



Rockwell salesman is probably assuming a TechConnect contract...
Wouldn't TechConnect contract still require yearly payments?
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
I have a condition called "The Knack".
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 03:12 PM   #15
VAN
Member
United States

VAN is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardosocea View Post
I seem to remember from their training course that you can limit what is available to be used/seen from a specific terminal. As I remember it used a different type of variable (session??) to determine where the screens were being displayed to control what was shown.

To be fair, the way FactoryTalk limits the screens available is through not having a navigation button to some screen, which isn't that fancy either.
Yeah, last time I had Ignition it was version 7.9 and I went to a conference when v8 was coming out and edge HMIs were starting to be talked about.

I'd hope they came up with something. That was the only thing that was on the "honor" system for what I was using. So we ran the risk of a "prankster" potentially stopping a system randomly to mess with people. (It never happened as far as I know but still a concern of mine.)

Edit-
Also, it was still Java based and needed Java RunTime. I remember a couple of windows updates that made that an issue. I think its HTML5 now but even not using Ignition for so long I remember it being WAY better than FTME/FTSE.

Last edited by VAN; April 16th, 2021 at 03:15 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ignition and Factorytalk Jasondelane LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 23rd, 2020 06:31 AM
Can't upgrade firmware for CompactLogix L32E mabauti LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 October 3rd, 2017 04:08 PM
RSLogix 5000 ver. 23 & FTView 8.0 jkerekes LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 February 12th, 2015 02:02 AM
FT View SE Editing Without License Mark Cole LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 November 22nd, 2014 09:03 AM
RS Linx Classic Read Only ronman LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 26 October 11th, 2013 10:44 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 AM.


.