You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 2nd, 2015, 12:48 PM   #1
Prayder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Prayder is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 254
Bootp-dhcp

I am trying to understand why every time I open the BOOTP-DHCP utility I constantly get a message saying:

Cannot find a valid IP Address
Application cannot continue
Fix network settings or connection and retry the applicaiton.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2015, 05:18 PM   #2
James Mcquade
Member
United States

James Mcquade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,091
Prayder,

I am assuming that you mean Allen Bradley Bootp.
Before using the bootp program, you must setup the initial program config file using the bootp-dhcp server program.

Sorry, this is as far as I can take you. it has been several years since I used it.

regards,
james
  Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2015, 09:31 PM   #3
kolyur
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

kolyur is offline
 
kolyur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wooster, Ohio
Posts: 1,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prayder View Post
I am trying to understand why every time I open the BOOTP-DHCP utility I constantly get a message saying:

Cannot find a valid IP Address
Application cannot continue
Fix network settings or connection and retry the applicaiton.
Are you trying to run the program before you have a network connection established? (i.e. before you plug in the Ethernet cord?) If so then there's no IP address on the port and that might be why it's complaining.
__________________
John
  Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2015, 10:27 PM   #4
taward31
Member
Ireland

taward31 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dublin
Posts: 51
I have used this software lots,

First of all remove all other devices and hardwire straight into the device you want to assign the ip address to,

then set your lan conneciton to dynamic.

Open the software and under options/tools or config not sure what its called, enter in the subnet mask 255.255.255.0 and nothing else

then select browse and wait till you see your mac address...

then select the devices mac address and make sure in shows up in the bottom window

Next there are differences with certain devices....some you can just assign an i.p straight away, others you need to go back to your Lan ip settings then put your network card in the desired range i.e static ip addressing

if you want your device to be 192.168.1.2
subnet 255.255.255.0

your laptop will have to be 192.168.1.xx ''anything other than 2''
255.255.255.0

that should do the trick,

then go back to the boot/p software that is still running and disable the bootp etc

few other notes, the mac address can take a long time to pop up so be patient 5mins and it should be up by then

your device needs to be broadcasting its mac address so make sure thats happenig

also some laptops have firewalls that stop this software from working so dont be afraid to use another pc/laptop
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2020, 02:34 PM   #5
shawn_75
Member
United States

shawn_75 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: KY
Posts: 424
I realize I'm resurrecting an old thread, but this was the only hit here for the OPs problem and I encountered it today too. I found that I had to disable all the Ethernet ports that were not in use and showed as Network Cable Unplugged in order to get the utility to start. Hopefully this helps someone.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2020, 09:32 PM   #6
GTUnit
Member
United States

GTUnit is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 397
You must have some type of active network connection talking to the laptop. It can be wired Ethernet or WiFi. Altho not both at the same time.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2020, 09:15 AM   #7
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 3,011
636036 - BootP will not open, "Network setup error. Cannot find valid IP address"
Access Level: TechConnect

  • Try Plug the workstation computer directly into the device
  • Disable all other Ethernet adapters, including wireless Ethernet adapters


680084 - BOOTP-DHCP Server shows Network Setup Error
Access Level: TechConnect
  • Check Local Area Connection is Enabled
  • Check Local Area Connection is not set to Obtain IP Address Automatically
  • Make sure you are using a crossover cable (if no Auto MDI-X support)


Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".

Last edited by Geospark; February 27th, 2020 at 09:35 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2021, 10:32 PM   #8
jdbrandt
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jdbrandt is offline
 
jdbrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prayder View Post
I am trying to understand why every time I open the BOOTP-DHCP utility I constantly get a message saying:

Cannot find a valid IP Address
Application cannot continue
Fix network settings or connection and retry the applicaiton.
Your network cable is not connected.
__________________
Jeffrey D.Brandt
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bootp & dhcp meghnesh LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 23 May 28th, 2014 07:29 PM
WAGO 750-342 BOOTP Dramas pak_indo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 23rd, 2014 02:43 PM
Powerflex ip address disappears unsaint32 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 October 13th, 2013 08:50 PM
About Bootp (a entry level question) unsaint32 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 October 7th, 2013 11:11 AM
1761-NET-ENI Help gizmo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 January 20th, 2003 11:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:06 PM.


.