You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 28th, 2021, 08:45 AM   #1
nathan.slade
Member
Australia

nathan.slade is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: n.s.w
Posts: 69
Changing from micrologix1100 to a 1200

Hi all. I have been give a job to remove an old plc and screen and change it to a newer AB unit like the machine sitting next to it. The problem I have is the newer unit has a ml1100 and they want to use a ml1200as we have 4 spares at the moment. I have gone into the program for the 1100 and change the processor to a 1200 but I get a warning scp instructions are only valid for ml1200 series c fun 6 or higher. Mine is a ser c fw 14. I have changed the series in the adv configuration but still no luck clearing the error. Any ideas out there?
Thanks for your input
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2021, 09:24 AM   #2
pturmel
Member
United States

pturmel is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 91
The Micrologix 1200 and 1500 are an older and less capable design compared to the 1100 and 1400. You are going to have great difficulty.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2021, 10:06 AM   #3
drbitboy
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

drbitboy is online now
 
drbitboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 3,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan.slade View Post
...I get a warning scp instructions are only valid for ml1200 series c fun 6 or higher. Mine is a ser c fw 14. I have changed the series in the adv configuration but still no luck clearing the error. Any ideas out there?
1) It appears that that does not make sense as you have described it. That said, I have found that processors do not care about what the manual says or what makes sense, they can only do what they are programmed to do, so believing a manual instead of the available software and trying to act as if your 1200 ser c fw 14 could somehow accept the SCP, when the software says it cannot, will probably be futile.

2) Is that an error or a warning?

2.1) Also, is it about SCP instructions in general, or is it about the data types, INT vs. REAL, of operands to the instruction?

2.3) If it's a warning, then perhaps it can be ignored cf. this thread: http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=52165. It is straightforward to create a couple of test rungs to determine what will work.

3) If that does not work, I would suggest replacing the SCP instructions with a series of SUB/MUL/DIV instructions, using REAL operaands, that accomplish the same thing; see below.

3.1) Also note that the expressions [(y1-y0)/(x1-x0)] and [y0-(x0*(y1-y0)/(x1-x0))] can be replaced by constants that you can calculate outside the program, so the it will only take two instructions, a MULtiply and an ADD, to replace each SCP instruction.

yyy.png
__________________
i) Take care of the bits, and the bytes will take care of themselves.
ii) There is no software problem that cannot be solved with another layer of indirection.

Last edited by drbitboy; July 28th, 2021 at 10:23 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2021, 10:37 AM   #4
nathan.slade
Member
Australia

nathan.slade is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: n.s.w
Posts: 69
So after looking at the warning again there using float point operands and that's the problem. I'll look at that other thread. Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2021, 11:01 AM   #5
drbitboy
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

drbitboy is online now
 
drbitboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 3,336
The manual (click here) claims Floating-point data files are allowed for the SCP instrunction. Have you tried a one-rung test program to see if the warning can be ignored?


See also here: https://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showth...670#post844670


It seems the warning is only to remind you to check your firmware revision to ensure it can handle the floating point data file operands.
__________________
i) Take care of the bits, and the bytes will take care of themselves.
ii) There is no software problem that cannot be solved with another layer of indirection.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PV550 k5a5 + micrologix 1200 kennadrin LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 May 6th, 2015 08:24 AM
Changing "MINI" on PID value while running sparkytex LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 August 6th, 2014 10:45 AM
Indirect MicroLogix 1200 Communication bkrupp LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 30th, 2012 06:31 PM
Changing nodes for Micrologix 1200 and 1500 without Teach Pendent BradSensenig LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 19th, 2012 06:31 PM
Faulted 1200 Micrologix jlacomis LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 22nd, 2008 10:47 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:55 PM.


.