CLX PID control using line speed parameter

jim767

Any suggestions to this are appreciated. I am thinking about setting up a PID loop (I'm new to PID and PLC stuff, take it easy on me if you will). Anyway, I want to set up a PID where I have a detector output as the PV and a actuator in closed loop to place a web back to the center of the detector (SP). Since the configuration of the guiding mechanism will not produce immediate movement of the web and would cause overshoot, there is a need to create a time lag and this needs to be based on the line speed. There is a prox switch on one of the rolls which can be fed to the PLC. Would it make sense to place a bit instruction for the prox signal on the same rung of the PID instruction or can someone suggest some other method using the prox.

One item I thought about was, what if the line stopped and the bit was true keeping the PID active, the actuator would just keep moving, not good. Is this where a one shot could be used.

Thanks

Jim,
Can you please tell us more about the physical setup
Is this a typical unwinder using a dancer to maintain web tension?
Or are you trying to steer the web when the web is in motion?

Michael, actually this is a bowed roll spreader for fabric which stretches. Not sure what a dancer is. When the bow's curvature is parallel to the fabrics passline the most spreading action is performed. When you move the bows angle the fabric will not immediately change its width therfore the need to produce some time lag or stepping action by the actuator or move then wait, check how far off, then move and wait again.