You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 8th, 2021, 04:45 PM   #1
FreeAtLast
Member
United States

FreeAtLast is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Nashville
Posts: 35
How do I make a FactoryTalkView ME PB display caption an attribute?

Hi All,
I have another project with FactoryTalkView ME V11. Instead of copy/pasting the same custom PB object 100 times in my project it seems to me that I could make it a global object with attributes (or as AB calls it, "Global Object Parameter Definitions").

A colleague showed me how to use Global Object Parameter Definitions to link a tag to an instance of a global object. This is easily done with momentary pushbuttons to parameterize the Command and Indicator attributes of a PB. But I want to be able to change the displayed text on the PB (the "Caption") how can I also make that modifiable as well for each instance of this multi pushbutton custom object.

For example, most of my pushbuttons say (Advance/Advanced) depending on the state. But I may want to have one say (Raise/Raised), and not loose my link to the global original.

Thanks for any help you have.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2021, 05:44 PM   #2
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,299
It can't be done using a simple button object. FTView is severely limited on that front.

Your best bet is probably to modify your global object to consist of a multistate indicator, on which you can configure your caption quite easily, and a transparent button overlaying it for the button functionality.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2021, 08:30 AM   #3
FreeAtLast
Member
United States

FreeAtLast is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Nashville
Posts: 35
Thanks ASF. It seems you're right, that FactoryTalk doesn't have that functionality of attributes that are part of global objects. By contrast, Ignition does a great job offering those features.
Anyway, I looked at the multistate indicator again, and it has the same limitations of my other objects: It looks like you still can't make display text an attribute of your template instance.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2021, 05:06 PM   #4
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,299
I've said it before and I'll say it again: migrating from FTView ME to Ignition is like migrating from Microsoft Paint to Photoshop
  Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2021, 05:17 PM   #5
decvms
Banned User
United States

decvms is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASF View Post
I've said it before and I'll say it again: migrating from FTView ME to Ignition is like migrating from Microsoft Paint to Photoshop
agree and pay $12,000 for basic package
  Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2021, 07:48 PM   #6
nhatsen
Member
Venezuela

nhatsen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Argentina
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeAtLast View Post
Hi All,
... But I want to be able to change the displayed text on the PB (the "Caption")...
I'm not sure if this is the solution you're looking for. Anyway...

Assuming you have declared a button as a global object, and this button has 2 states:

a) Go to the Global Object Parameters Definition and define 2 parameters. For example:
Code:
Name | Description
--------------------------------
#1     | Caption for state0
#2     ] Caption for state1
b) Go to the Button Properties > States and add a string variable inside each caption. In the popup, select literal string and write the number of the global parameter:

Code:
{#1}  <---- this is the variable for state0 caption   
{#2}  <---- this is the variable for state1 caption
At the end of this step you'll find this code in the caption field:
Code:
/*LS:0 {#1}*/      <- state0
/*LS:0 {#2}*/      <- state1
c) Save the Global Object. When you instantiate the button in any display, set the text for the states using the Global Object Parameters Value.
__________________
"If you can't solve a problem, then there is an easier problem you can solve: find it." (George Pólya)
  Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2021, 07:58 PM   #7
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,299
Nice solution! One thing to be aware of when using literal strings is the "ASCII space" issue - i.e. you can't just use a regular space or it'll fault. You have to use an ASCII space, which looks the same as a regular space but isn't. Check out this thread for more details, particularly posts #6 through #13
  Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2021, 08:24 PM   #8
Phrog30
Member
United States

Phrog30 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by decvms View Post
agree and pay $12,000 for basic package
$12k wouldn't be the basic. You are severely misinformed.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2021, 10:09 PM   #9
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrog30 View Post
$12k wouldn't be the basic. You are severely misinformed.
Correct.

Single-client vision system with AB drivers is around US$2k
Single-session perspective system with AB drivers is under US$3k

Single-session license a fair approximation to a PanelView plus, which also gives you a single runtime license. The only other factor would be datalogging, which comes built in with the PVP and cost an extra US$2k for Ignition. But then for that $2k, you're getting a proper full-blown historian, not the janky datalogging that you get on a PVP.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2021, 01:14 PM   #10
decvms
Banned User
United States

decvms is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrog30 View Post
$12k wouldn't be the basic. You are severely misinformed.
You can check its web site before saying that I am misinformed.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2021, 10:04 PM   #11
Phrog30
Member
United States

Phrog30 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by decvms View Post
You can check its web site before saying that I am misinformed.
Did and I'm an avid user, you are wrong
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2021, 04:57 PM   #12
decvms
Banned User
United States

decvms is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 6
A shameless liar you are!
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2021, 02:41 PM   #13
Phrog30
Member
United States

Phrog30 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by decvms View Post
A shameless liar you are!
Not sure why I'm wasting time replying to you, but Ignition isn't $12000 for basic. ASF gave you several examples above, I guess you glossed over his post. What you read on IA website is a package IA believes to be the basic SCADA package for a user. But, it is not the most basic package they offer. All pricing on their website is list, further savings can be achieved through certifications. Since this thread, which we have now completely butchered, was related to ME, the price comparisons should be apples to apples. Ignition Edge is probably the closest, and varies in cost as it's typically sold as preinstalled on participating vendors. Advantech is one vendor. For a 15", it's under $4000. That is on par with PV+ pricing. A single license for Ignition is ~$1600. Add the driver and you are at $2000. This can run on a variety of hardware (some very cheap - heck a Rasp Pi will work). That's well short of your $12000 basic package price you think I'm lying about.

You are misinformed. Read up!
  Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2021, 11:49 AM   #14
FreeAtLast
Member
United States

FreeAtLast is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Nashville
Posts: 35
Thanks nHatsen. I appreciate the detailed response.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2021, 06:28 AM   #15
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 5,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrog30 View Post
Not sure why I'm wasting time replying to you, but Ignition isn't $12000 for basic. ASF gave you several examples above, I guess you glossed over his post. What you read on IA website is a package IA believes to be the basic SCADA package for a user. But, it is not the most basic package they offer. All pricing on their website is list, further savings can be achieved through certifications. Since this thread, which we have now completely butchered, was related to ME, the price comparisons should be apples to apples. Ignition Edge is probably the closest, and varies in cost as it's typically sold as preinstalled on participating vendors. Advantech is one vendor. For a 15", it's under $4000. That is on par with PV+ pricing. A single license for Ignition is ~$1600. Add the driver and you are at $2000. This can run on a variety of hardware (some very cheap - heck a Rasp Pi will work). That's well short of your $12000 basic package price you think I'm lying about.

You are misinformed. Read up!

Not to mention, the FTView ME equivalent, Ignition Edge, is 100% free, and comes pre-loaded on a bunch of Industrial Touch Panel PC's, that themselves are less expensive than a PanelView +. This guy is either intentionally misinformed, or a shill for Rockwell.
__________________
------------------------------------
How to ask questions the SMART Way!

Look First, Ask Second!

  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Historical trend display. Cached or not? Suseh LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 14th, 2015 02:42 PM
Factory Talk View SE - Make display appear when a bit is true bboytaktix LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 January 7th, 2015 11:27 AM
Inview Messaging Display sponge_bob LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 November 6th, 2008 11:10 AM
Controlling mesages on message display via SLC500 simpy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 August 23rd, 2006 02:44 PM
Calling all Siemens S7-200 gurus mjamil LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 October 17th, 2004 07:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 AM.


.