You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 3rd, 2021, 01:02 PM   #1
technolog
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

technolog is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 223
Documenting an Omron CPM1A program in CX-Programmer

I've got an upload from an Omron SYSMAC CPM1A PLC but I cannot figure out for the life of me how to document the inputs and outputs. It's version 9.7 of CX-Programmer and it's in run mode and monitoring. I've tried switching to program mode but that didn't seem to get me any further down the road.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2021, 01:08 PM   #2
gtsuport
Member
United States

gtsuport is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,239
You will need to go offline to document.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2021, 01:51 PM   #3
technolog
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

technolog is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 223
D'oh!

Could someone explain the 'Keep' instruction, please?
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (3.7 KB, 50 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2021, 02:50 PM   #4
forqnc
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

forqnc is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Elizabeth City
Posts: 102
technolog,
It's a latch instruction when the top rung comes ON the address in the Keep instruction (HR0.02) will go on and stay on even if the top rung goes false. The bottom rung will reset the Keep Instruction
  Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2021, 04:33 PM   #5
BobB
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

BobB is offline
 
BobB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,428
Basically a one block set and reset.
__________________
The Old Pfhaart

  Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2021, 10:06 PM   #6
Soggy Canuck
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

Soggy Canuck is offline
 
Soggy Canuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 208
This particular KEEP function has an added feature.

By using an HR bit it retains its state even after power loss. A useful feature if it's being used as an interlock for prevention of motion unless the shear is in its home position say.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2021, 08:06 AM   #7
technolog
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

technolog is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 223
Thanks everyone
  Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2021, 08:26 AM   #8
technolog
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

technolog is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 223
Another quick question. I have HR (retentive) bits in the 0.?? range and the 10.?? range. The same is also true of the digital inputs (0) & outputs (10). Can you confirm that these HR bits are absolutely nothing to do with the digital inputs/outputs with the same number?

Also, can you confirm that the IL & ILC instructions (Interlock & Interlock Clear) work in the same way as Allen-Bradley's MCR instruction? The section of code IL & ILC is only executed when the IL rung is true?

Last edited by technolog; May 4th, 2021 at 08:29 AM. Reason: Originally said my outputs were 0.?? & 10.??
  Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2021, 08:59 AM   #9
gtsuport
Member
United States

gtsuport is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,239
Most all of your questions can be answered in this manual.


https://assets.omron.eu/downloads/ma..._manual_en.pdf


gtsuport
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2021, 03:09 PM   #10
technolog
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

technolog is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtsuport View Post
Most all of your questions can be answered in this manual.


https://assets.omron.eu/downloads/ma..._manual_en.pdf


gtsuport
Thank you. I'm cognizant that I have a tendency to ask for help, hoping for a quick fix, rather than trawling through manuals
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omron CX programmer language Jirrr LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 April 5th, 2016 02:54 AM
instructions Upload Program PLC Omron CPM1A to PC ngoclan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 October 5th, 2014 12:25 PM
cx program omron zakir LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 June 14th, 2010 08:12 AM
Omron CX Programmer Question fredjohns LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 March 11th, 2009 07:41 PM
Omron CX Programmer Crashes on Help Menu 69FIREBIRD LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 December 1st, 2008 03:11 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:17 PM.


.