You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 8th, 2021, 01:42 PM   #1
Tim Ganz
Member
United States

Tim Ganz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 619
RS View 32 Making Changes

I have to make some additions to an RS View 32 system and I have never worked with it and have not found many training or other resources on it. It seems to be very close to FT View SE?

It currently has 12 pump station screens and I need to add another pump station. All the other stations have 4 pumps each but the new station will only have 2 pumps.

Can I copy a 4 pump screen and edit the tags to point to the new PLC for station 13 and delete the other 2 pumps?

AFAIK there is no good backup that I have found of this system so what is the proper way to back it up?

And do I need to make a new .mer file after I make the edits?

I know with FT View SE I always backup the .sed file so is this the same? they have made the edits on the server in the past I am told as the maintenance laptop does not have RS View 32 installed.

How would I add the new PLC to be seen by the application?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 02:01 PM   #2
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is offline
 
parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 3,138
If I remember correctly you can just copy the whole directory to back up, Yes you can copy a screen, modify it, replace the tags. There is no mer file as I assume this is on a windows platform.

Last edited by parky; April 8th, 2021 at 02:08 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 02:31 PM   #3
drforsythe
Member
United States

drforsythe is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Metro Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 147
As parky stated, you can just copy the whole directory to back it up. There is no backup/restore process like FTVSE.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 02:40 PM   #4
JaxGTO
Member
United States

JaxGTO is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kalieefornia
Posts: 880
You can also open a screen and then File/Save As to make a backup in the app.


RSView32 has no direct tag referencing and uses the tag database only.


Just FYI Here is the history:
It started life as Advisor PC.
Then became Control View.
That became RSView32.
Then that rolled into FTView SE and ME.
__________________
I have to use Rockwell Software!
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 03:15 PM   #5
GaryS
Member
United States

GaryS is offline
 
GaryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 1,586
Tim
Check on what software you need to edit Your Panel I believe you need Panel View 32
I know it runs on DOS
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 03:53 PM   #6
Tim Ganz
Member
United States

Tim Ganz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryS View Post
Tim
Check on what software you need to edit Your Panel I believe you need Panel View 32
I know it runs on DOS
Its a RS View 32 app that runs on a PC versus a panelview. We have panel bulider 32 for our panelview standar units / the black case type.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 03:54 PM   #7
Tim Ganz
Member
United States

Tim Ganz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaxGTO View Post
You can also open a screen and then File/Save As to make a backup in the app.


RSView32 has no direct tag referencing and uses the tag database only.


Just FYI Here is the history:
It started life as Advisor PC.
Then became Control View.
That became RSView32.
Then that rolled into FTView SE and ME.
What file type would this method create?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 04:00 PM   #8
Tim Ganz
Member
United States

Tim Ganz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by parky View Post
If I remember correctly you can just copy the whole directory to back up, Yes you can copy a screen, modify it, replace the tags. There is no mer file as I assume this is on a windows platform.
I assume you mean the windows file directory? Will this capture everything?

I ask because we have the RS View 32 install disks and I really want to move it to a better piece of hardware but it has lots of data logs we want to keep and tons of recipes and works with reporting software from a non allen bradley vendor.

This thing has been on the production floor and is full of muck and it has dual power supplies but one is dead and when you boot it up it says 1 disk of the raid mirror is dead so it needs to be backed up and installed on a newer box.

we have tons of old servers that are in great shape that could be used as IT changes them out every 3 years but this one was a maintenance and operations responsibility and nothing every got done about it I guess.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 04:02 PM   #9
Tim Ganz
Member
United States

Tim Ganz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 619
There is also a note in the documentation from the previos PLC guy that they added logic in the PLC to prevent HMI buttons sticking? Says added logicc to unlatch HMI buttons?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 04:07 PM   #10
Ken Moore
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ken Moore is offline
 
Ken Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North, West, South Carolina
Posts: 3,065
I would virtualize it and run the VM on newer hardware. Unless it has DH+ card in it.
__________________
Certified Siemens Functional Safety Professional,
ID: SFSP17010238
https://azr.com/
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 04:34 PM   #11
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 10,939
I think the RSView32 app has an extension "rvs" but those memories are old and dusty.

When you copy the whole directory, you are likely to get a lot of data that isn't necessary depending on how many tags are being logged, along with alarm history data that also might not be necessary. If you are using sneakernet (thumb drive) to perform the transfer of the application, this is a handy bit of info...

The structure of the application directory is sensible though, so it is pretty easy to find the cache of stuff you can delete without really losing anything.

Be aware that there are separate licenses for Runtime vs. Development.
CTRL + P is your friend if you just want to edit it live.

EDIT: As for "stuck button syndrome", it can happen to the best of them, so it is always a good idea to deal with any momentary buttons using the PLC to ensure that they either have a time limit or only cause action on the rising edge. Some folks just don't use momentary buttons in the HMI and make them all "set" type buttons.
__________________
You can choose a ready guide in some celestial voice. If you choose not to decide you still have made a choice.

Last edited by OkiePC; April 8th, 2021 at 04:37 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 05:16 PM   #12
Tim Ganz
Member
United States

Tim Ganz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Moore View Post
I would virtualize it and run the VM on newer hardware. Unless it has DH+ card in it.
That it does and ControlNet as well. Most of the PLC 5 stuff is DH+ and the SLC units are Controlnet and then there are lots of compact logix and controllogix on ethernet.

It has a quad ethernet card and best i can tell all 4 ports are being used in which it would be a lt if on one port.

we have spares for both cards in the stock room and working with our IT guy i got them installed on the server from the IT bone yard that is just a couple models newer but the hard disks and disk raid card are different thus the need to backup / reinstall software and restore the view application.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 05:44 PM   #13
Tim Ganz
Member
United States

Tim Ganz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by OkiePC View Post
I think the RSView32 app has an extension "rvs" but those memories are old and dusty.

When you copy the whole directory, you are likely to get a lot of data that isn't necessary depending on how many tags are being logged, along with alarm history data that also might not be necessary. If you are using sneakernet (thumb drive) to perform the transfer of the application, this is a handy bit of info...

The structure of the application directory is sensible though, so it is pretty easy to find the cache of stuff you can delete without really losing anything.

Be aware that there are separate licenses for Runtime vs. Development.
CTRL + P is your friend if you just want to edit it live.

EDIT: As for "stuck button syndrome", it can happen to the best of them, so it is always a good idea to deal with any momentary buttons using the PLC to ensure that they either have a time limit or only cause action on the rising edge. Some folks just don't use momentary buttons in the HMI and make them all "set" type buttons.
Yes I have seen .RVS mentioned when searching online but did not find a lot of detail.

It will be a flash drive or usb removable drive. The IT guy has several sizes of usb external drives and flash drives and one 480GB flash drive to transport it.

Can you expand more on CTRL+P?

In the programs most of the HMI pushbuttons are just XIC in the logic so whats the best way to handle them like a one shot after them perhaps?

When you say a "set" type button would that be a multi state button in AB HMI language? or the maintained pushbutton option?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 05:49 PM   #14
Operaghost
Member
United States

Operaghost is offline
 
Operaghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 3,133
RSView32 creates a folder for a project. That folder contains all of the project files. Copy that folder and you've got the entire project.

RSView32 projects can be stored anywhere. There is no specific folder location you are required to use.

RSView32 does have a Transfer utility. It is very similar to what later became the Application Manager tool in FT View. It creates a single compressed file that could be used to copy to another computer. The thinking at the time was that the project folder might be to big for a floppy disk. If I remember correctly, the Transfer utility could span multiple floppies. Of course the tool became unnecessary with removal USB drives.

OG
__________________
I despise when people take random quotes and ascribe them to me - Julius Caesar
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 05:56 PM   #15
Ken Moore
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ken Moore is offline
 
Ken Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North, West, South Carolina
Posts: 3,065
On a PC that has the development and runtime programs. Cntrl +P applied in runtime will take you to the development program. I think on a runtime only PC, it takes you to a selection window, where you can pick application to run. Very rusty on RSView 32.
__________________
Certified Siemens Functional Safety Professional,
ID: SFSP17010238
https://azr.com/
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DL05 and GS4 Modbus ASCII Issue STEMAPPLICATIONS LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 May 9th, 2020 01:55 AM
RS View 32 Data logging Saurabh Trivedi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 21st, 2017 06:49 AM
Automatically running a rs view 32 project srv LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 October 21st, 2011 06:16 PM
Rs view 32 Remote client harrisoncw LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 November 27th, 2006 05:49 PM
Rs View 32 mjkoc518 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 December 30th, 2005 12:21 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:47 PM.


.