keep getting ethernet failure alarm

fgoodsky

Have a remote lift station that uses an Ethernet connection to talk to the building right next to it, and from there it communicates via radio to the main plc at the wastewater plant. Im new to the position, and from the very start I replaced the ehternet hub, and that stopped the failures, for a month. Now they are back and im perplexed. any help would be great.

Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !

Please provide as much context and detail as you can.

What form does the "ethernet failure alarm" take ? Do you know precisely what it detects ? Where was the "ethernet hub" (an obsolete sort of device) that you replaced located in the architecture ?

What kind of radios are used ? How far does the radio signal travel ?

This could be a PLC problem, and Ethernet infrastructure problem, a radio problem, a SCADA alarming problem.... it's going to take some work to narrow it down.

an odor control building within the sewer system talks with a sanitary lift system right next to it that monitors the level of and controls motors that send sewage to the wastewater plant. the lift system talks via a 4rf radio system that never fails. the lift system and the odor control building are connected via ethernet port, and all we get is an ethernet failure. i replaced the ethernet switch and it fixed the problem for 1 month, now im getting ethernet failure, that clear up on its own after 10-60 mins.

What exact form does the "ethernet failure" alarm take ? Is it a SCADA tag ? An autodialer alert ? Something that fails to update that you infer a communications failure from ?

how long is the ethernet cable? 100 meters / 330 ft is max, but i would not go past 275 ft. the ethernet cable may be bad, the ends may be bad and need to be redone.
you might consider fiber optic cable and use ethernet converters on each end. if you go fiber, use multimode.
james