You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 4th, 2021, 03:32 PM   #1
Abn
Member
United States

Abn is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Fl
Posts: 37
Rslogix 5000 PID Scaling Tab

Hi, I am confuse with the scaling tab on the PID dialog box.

On the Process variable I am using a tag that is already scale. 0 to 16 Feet Level.

I am confused what do I input on the scale tab. I am using 16 on the max unscaled and also 16 on the engineering units max.

Is this right?


Untitled.jpg

Regards.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2021, 03:54 PM   #2
saultgeorge
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

saultgeorge is offline
 
saultgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Detroit
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abn View Post
Hi, I am confuse with the scaling tab on the PID dialog box.

On the Process variable I am using a tag that is already scale. 0 to 16 Feet Level.

I am confused what do I input on the scale tab. I am using 16 on the max unscaled and also 16 on the engineering units max.

Is this right?


Attachment 58202

Regards.
Hi, I have done a few of these, and maybe Peter will weigh in. In the PV side, your units are basically what your input would be whether 4 - 20mA or 0 - 10V. (There are many unit configurations available: -10 - +10V, 0 - 20mA, etc. Check your device information) As you can see, my units for the PV that I had in this project were 4 - 20mA. The engineering units are the range of the device. In this case in my project it was a temperature transmitter with a range of minus 100 degrees F to plus 200 degrees F. This is what will eventually be displayed in other places such as an HMI display and also in logic for analog values and can be used in compare instructions and the like.
So for your application, your level sensor is either mA or Volts. Then the zero to 16 foot would be the engineering units (range) Hope this helps.
Attached Images
File Type: png scaling.png (26.2 KB, 44 views)
__________________
"Instant success teaches one nothing. Failure teaches one everything one needs to succeed."

Last edited by saultgeorge; May 4th, 2021 at 03:59 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2021, 09:43 AM   #3
Abn
Member
United States

Abn is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Fl
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by saultgeorge View Post
Hi, I have done a few of these, and maybe Peter will weigh in. In the PV side, your units are basically what your input would be whether 4 - 20mA or 0 - 10V. (There are many unit configurations available: -10 - +10V, 0 - 20mA, etc. Check your device information) As you can see, my units for the PV that I had in this project were 4 - 20mA. The engineering units are the range of the device. In this case in my project it was a temperature transmitter with a range of minus 100 degrees F to plus 200 degrees F. This is what will eventually be displayed in other places such as an HMI display and also in logic for analog values and can be used in compare instructions and the like.
So for your application, your level sensor is either mA or Volts. Then the zero to 16 foot would be the engineering units (range) Hope this helps.

Thanks for the help.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSLogix 5000 PID Question GENERY LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 25th, 2020 04:59 AM
Translate PID SLC 5/04 to RSlogix 5000 adsgzz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 18th, 2018 01:08 PM
Studio 5000 Logix Emulate - Is this a free software with RS Logix 5000 or support ? Baker in Virginia LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 33 June 8th, 2017 02:58 PM
PID flow control help in RSLogix 5000 brendan.buchan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 January 4th, 2016 04:10 PM
Set in RSLogix 5000 pid frank222 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 February 18th, 2013 07:44 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:47 PM.


.