PanelView Plus to ControLogix

sportster

Hey,

I'm new to the PanelView Plus communicating to a ControLogix. I've got a ControLogix program all written using UDT's wherever possible. I have a lot of analog and digital data to display on the PV+ (Approx 100 Dints, 50 Reals, 250 Bools). All of this data is coming from 4 UDT's (Controller based tags of course). The guy I'm working with on developing the PV+ tells me that I have to map all of this PV+ data in the ControLogix to one big block of Dints because the PanelView+ won't pick data from the seperate UDT's. He says he tried it before and crashed the PV+ comms. Am I correct in thinking that the data is transfered in blocks anyway so it doesn't matter? What's the difference if a block of the UDT transfers or a block from the Dint array? I've done PV+ using a SLC and never mapped any data into a special block or file just for the PV. And never had trouble with communications; so this ControLogix change seems strange to me. Is it?

Thanks in advance;
Patrick

I don't think so

Dpeending on what version of 5000 he used, it might be possible. But my inclination is that you do not have to do this. We just installed a 5000 with a PV+ in which we did create one file of DINT to and from the PV+, but we did not have to actually map them at all. This was done in version 13. I cannot think of any reason why you would need to do it, but I do not claim to be an expert.

Russ

Whoa... this guy is way off base. He may have run into a problem like this several versions ago, but the current releases I have used in the last couple of years, do everything you asking for just fine.

Out of curiosity what kind of connection are you using? And are you using "Direct Tags"?