OPC Client in C# or Visual Basic (Alternate Title: OPC SUCKS!!!)

n9xcr

I've been attempting to use OPC off and on for the past year. I HATE OPC! DDE was so much easier, and I have yet to see any advantage to OPC. I'm hoping somebody here can change my mind. :)

I'm trying to write an application in C# and Visual Basic (Visual Studio 2008) using the Graybox OPC DA Auto Wrapper and KepServer. I haven't been able to find any good examples or tutorials to go by. I'm not an expert programmer, but I know just enough to be a little dangerous.

I want my application to load and connect to a specific OPC server automatically (preferably on a different computer on my network). Every example I find requires me to interact with the application, browsing and connecting to the OPC server. Then I have to add groups. I try to disect the examples and write my own that does all this automatically, but it never works and I keep getting lost.

Maybe it's just me, but it should be much easier than this. I'd really appreciate any help I could get here. I'm ready to just continue programming in VB6 so I can use DDE.

Thank you,
Chris (An Official OPC Hater)

How about switching OPC Component ?
If you are not satisfied with the functionality or documentation, then why dont take your business elsewhere.
You can also contact the vendor and tell them your troubles.
Dont tell me that you purchased the graybox component without trying it out first.

I have looked at several OPC client components and Advosols looked the most intersting to me, at least from a superficial glance.

This snippet from their description should interest you:
ItemListBuilder / ItemListLoader