Structured Text Programming

Andreik

Good day to all,

I'm a proficient PLC Programmer in the Ladder format. Just recently I'm studying the Structured Text Programming and it's nature is really different. It's like I'm learning back to basics once again.

I already learned how to utilize the Conditional Statements (If, Else, Case, Of etc...) and also the Mathematical functions of ST. However, I'm still wondering how to use the "Timers, Counters, Shift Regs and Difu/Difd" in Structured Text.

Can anyone provide me a reference/manual on how to fully understand the Structured Text Programming? Any help will be appreciated. I'm by the way using Omron's CX-Programmer. Thank you very much,

Sincerely,
Andrei K.

Timer and Counter variables are not valid data types in OMRON's structured text programming.
You must create your own timer or counter using structured text statements. These both can use an incrementing method [a = a + 1] and comparison statement IF a = 60 THEN *********!

For a timer use one a structured text External Variables clock pulse bits to trigger your incrementer [ie P_1s will increment every second].

For DIFU/DIFD's and Shift Registers you will also have to construct your own version using ST.

In my experience Structured Text programming is best suited to complex math calculations and string manipulations.
Much easier to develop and understand than ladder.

For everything else I still prefer ladder.
Simpler for other using to comprehend, faster to develop and uses less PLC memory.
If you are intent on using ST then be sure to include clear and concise comments for other users.

o_O

Whoah, thank you there. I learned a lot from you. Another thing about "string manipulations" you have indicated. I want to learn a little bit about that. Can you give me an idea? Thanks so much.

Andreik, glad to help.

Attached is a very simple example of STRING usage within a Function block.