PID and control output

Cajunman0821

I am new to PID and have a question about the control output.

First of all, I am using a DirectLogic205 PLC with a 250-1 CPU. I have a 4 channel analog input and an 8 point output module.

After setting up the PID the control output goes up if my set point is higher than my process variable and goes down if the SP is lower. This part makes sense to me, sort of.

The problem is that I would expect the CO to be a certain value when SP=PV and always be that same value when SP=PV. But, the CO does not change to the same value, it just stops changing when SP=PV. So I could have a value of 1000, 0, or anything in between for the CO when SP=PV.

How do I know when to turn my outputs ON or OFF?

It looks like the PID is functioning correctly.

You must be using the integrator and it is correcting for changes in the load. If the load changes then the CO may need to be higher or lower to keep PV = SP.

The PID will control the output correctly if the PID is tuned correctly. It appears like you have tuned the system reasonably well.

I will write more later when not at work.

well, you said you're new ... here's a "basic idea" shot at your problem ...

Greetings, Cajunman0821,

you said:
I would expect the CO to be a certain value when SP=PV and always be that same value when SP=PV. But, the CO does not change to the same value, it just stops changing when SP=PV. So I could have a value of 1000, 0, or anything in between for the CO when SP=PV.

here’s an analogy using a cruise control for a car ...

I would expect the GAS PEDAL to be a certain value when DESIRED SPEED = ACTUAL SPEED and always be that same value when DESIRED SPEED = ACTUAL SPEED. But, the GAS PEDAL does not change to the same value, it just stops changing when DESIRED SPEED = ACTUAL SPEED.