PLC5 to ControlLogix translated indirect addr

JamesL

PLC5 to ControlLogix translated FALs are broken by indirect reference:
Hi folks, I’m new to PLC’s, I’ve been learning support on some PLC5 heat treat ovens. My Dilemma: I’ve got a new ControlLogix PLC/furnace that has our translated PLC5 ladder on it. Much of it works now after fixing i/o, timers etc, but I’m struggling with indirect references that our PLC5 ladder used.

I’ve been reading here and think I understand the basic idea behind indexed addressing, and indirect addressing, it makes some sense to me how the old logic used them. But the new PLC errors on those rungs and I’m not sure which way to go.

Below are two examples of translated FALs. A seems it'll be okay, B does not...

Example A: Oddly, the translation missed the length. But I presume if I fix that it’ll be okay (no error on CLX rung).

PLC 5 FAL
Control R116:8
Length 30
Position 0
Mode ALL
Destination #N111:0
Expression #N127:0
Translated ControlLogix FAL
Control R116[8]
Length 0
Position 0
Mode ALL
Destination N111[R116_008_POS]
Expression N127[R116_008_POS

Example B: The translation tool indicates “The address references an indirect file number. It was not translated.” The rung is preceded with an “e” offline, and will not allow me to import/run it on the plc. How should that destination address be handled on ControlLogix?
PLC 5 FAL
Control R116:0
Length 30
Position 0
Mode ALL
Destination #N[N119:0]:[N119:1]
Translated ControlLogix FAL
Control R116[0]
Length 30
Position 0
Mode ALL
Destination N[N119_0][R116_000_POS+N119_1]
Expression N127[R116_000_POS]

Thank you,
JamesL

Last edited:
Perhaps make the destination address ( N[N119_0][R116_000_POS+N119_1] ) a two dimensional array?
What is the range of N119:0 ?

Hi Mike, N119 is an Integer / 50 elements. I'll need to read up on how to configure the two dimensional array.