You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 10th, 2021, 07:42 PM   #1
dnlerwin
Member
United States

dnlerwin is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: AR
Posts: 1
How do I search for a particular instruction in Studio 5000

I usually do production support and I am the guy that comes behind someone else's program and try and debug.Often I see code that looks like this. Sequence routine



EQU(0,Sequence)------do something--------MOV(10,Sequence)
EQU(10,Sequence)------do something--------MOV(20,Sequence)
EQU(20,Sequence)------do something--------MOV(30,Sequence)
EQU(30,Sequence)------do something--------MOV(0,Sequence)


its great



But they often have in some other routine somewhere an instruction like


----Oh yeah if this happens----------MOV(0,Sequence)




So I want to be able to search for "MOV(0,Sequence)"specifically. If i search for Search for "Sequence" it returns to many results.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2021, 12:35 PM   #2
Operaghost
Member
United States

Operaghost is offline
 
Operaghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 3,177
Right-click on a tag and select Cross Reference. This only shows where that tag is used in logic as opposed to all the documentation that might use that word.

In the Cross Reference results, look at the field that says "destructive" if it says "Y" then that instruction affects that tag. Turns it on/off or changes its value. If it says "N" then that instruction looks at that tag but doesn't affect it. We are almost always looking for the destructive ("Y") usage.

OG
__________________
I despise when people take random quotes and ascribe them to me - Julius Caesar
  Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2021, 12:55 PM   #3
drbitboy
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

drbitboy is offline
 
drbitboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,826
can you save the program as a pdf? then a regular string search would work e.g. [Control-F](0,Sequence or [Control-F](0,[space]sequence.
__________________
i) Take care of the bits, and the bytes will take care of themselves.
ii) There is no software problem that cannot be solved with another layer of indirection.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2021, 02:02 PM   #4
Operaghost
Member
United States

Operaghost is offline
 
Operaghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 3,177
By default, the Logix 5000 software doesn't allow searching for instruction types using there three letter codes. But it can. And you can combine the instruction type with a tag name.
  1. Go to Search and select Find
  2. Click the Find Within button
  3. Under Components on the left, select Ladder Diagrams
  4. In the Options field on the right select Instructions
  5. Type the three letter code (ie MOV) then a space followed by your tag name

Something like MOV Sequencer (it is not case-sensitive)

You can type a partial tag name if you wish. But the order must be: instruction three letter code, space, tag name. I don't think you could search for two addresses though (MOV Sequencer CurrentState). I can't make that work.

The Find Within setting will be remembered in the future. You would only need to enable it once.

OG
Attached Images
File Type: png Search.png (18.2 KB, 41 views)
__________________
I despise when people take random quotes and ascribe them to me - Julius Caesar

Last edited by Operaghost; June 11th, 2021 at 02:12 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSLogix & Studio 5000 shazad5444 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 October 27th, 2020 07:27 AM
Remote access to Studio 5000 Emulate controller - v32 radfahrer LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 31st, 2019 11:25 AM
Studio 5000 Find instruction help! Not working?? lunenburger LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 July 11th, 2019 03:25 PM
Studio 5000 Search Replace SophieA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 August 29th, 2018 09:47 PM
RSLogix 5000 V15 Features Samneggs LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 April 20th, 2006 06:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 AM.


.