You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 29th, 2021, 06:58 PM   #1
showshocka
Member
United States

showshocka is offline
 
showshocka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 470
My Rslogix stays stuck on Splash Screen

Hi. My Rslogix 20.x stays stuck on the Splash Screen. I have tried to reinstall multiple other versions; 20.03, 20.04, .24.x, 28.x but the install shuts down stating I have newer versions installed and can not continue. Any Ideas? Thank you in advance.Logix will not open 2003_2004.JPG

Installed as of 5292021.JPG
__________________
I'm not totally lost
  Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2021, 07:56 PM   #2
AlfredoQuintero
Lifetime Supporting Member
Japan

AlfredoQuintero is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Yokohama
Posts: 638
Did you try launching as Administrator?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2021, 08:07 PM   #3
showshocka
Member
United States

showshocka is offline
 
showshocka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfredoQuintero View Post
Did you try launching as Administrator?
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfredoQuintero View Post
I sure did, and also tried to open in compatibility mode as Windows 8 and 7.
__________________
I'm not totally lost
  Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2021, 10:25 PM   #4
AlfredoQuintero
Lifetime Supporting Member
Japan

AlfredoQuintero is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Yokohama
Posts: 638
Are you able to launch the FactoryTalk Activation Manager?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2021, 10:30 PM   #5
AlfredoQuintero
Lifetime Supporting Member
Japan

AlfredoQuintero is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Yokohama
Posts: 638
If the PC has anti-virus software, perhaps you can try adding Logix Studio to the exception list of the anti-virus software.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2021, 09:11 AM   #6
ExcessiveDilutivity
Member
United States

ExcessiveDilutivity is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Last time I ran into that error I had to go to Customize during installation and deselect one of the options, I think it was the top one, FactoryTalk Services Platform.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2021, 05:11 PM   #7
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by showshocka View Post
I sure did, and also tried to open in compatibility mode as Windows 8 and 7.
But did you try compatibility mode for Windows Vista?

(apologies for the profanity, but I've found a couple of versions required that exact compatibility mode to work)
  Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2021, 05:12 PM   #8
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,335
Also, the latest minor revision of v20 is v20.05. I'd install that one, if you can.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2021, 05:16 PM   #9
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,335
Also Also, see this thread where I detailed the process of installing everything from v11 through to v32 on Windows Server 2019 (which is for all intents and purposes Windows 10 with less crapware and more server tools) and some of the tricks that helped get it all working
  Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2021, 09:57 PM   #10
Maxkling
Member
United States

Maxkling is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 480
Also, was it working before and now a new issue?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2021, 04:28 PM   #11
Nova5
Member
United States

Nova5 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Northern Snowball
Posts: 304
Are you connecting by a VPN and trying to fire up the software after that?
__________________
Problems that go away on their own mystically are not solved. They will return.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2021, 07:25 PM   #12
GaryS
Member
United States

GaryS is offline
 
GaryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 1,610
I have seen that before
It's an incompatible version it only happens if I think version 18 or 19 is installed on the same machine and then you install 20
What you need to do is install 20 with the highest revision you can download
or tell it not to load splash screen
Hope that helps
  Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2021, 06:20 PM   #13
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 2,363
I seen this before, multiple time on multiple PC. Sometime the common "fix" works, something doesn't. Yes, try the latest minor revision first.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2021, 08:19 AM   #14
showshocka
Member
United States

showshocka is offline
 
showshocka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfredoQuintero View Post
If the PC has anti-virus software, perhaps you can try adding Logix Studio to the exception list of the anti-virus software.
One day it worked and the next day it didn't. No new installs or updates of any other software.
__________________
I'm not totally lost
  Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2021, 08:39 AM   #15
showshocka
Member
United States

showshocka is offline
 
showshocka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfredoQuintero View Post
Are you able to launch the FactoryTalk Activation Manager?
No.


[ATTACH]Error FTAM.JPG[/ATTACH]

I also tried to install [ 2.90.00-FTServices-A-DVD ] It said I had the latest version installed, and canceled its install
Attached Images
File Type: jpg FTAM hanging.JPG (36.9 KB, 61 views)
__________________
I'm not totally lost

Last edited by showshocka; June 2nd, 2021 at 08:44 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error message IdealDan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 December 11th, 2017 08:40 AM
RSLogix Emulate 5 and RSLogix Emulate 500 on Windows 7 Ravioli LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 29th, 2016 07:23 AM
Stuck in Module Definition for Anybus - RSLogix 5000 V20.04 harryting LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 20th, 2016 12:11 PM
RS LOGIX 5000 emulate Skiroy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 August 25th, 2015 05:31 AM
PanelView Screen Saver Mode RKovacic LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 July 16th, 2003 02:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:50 AM.


.