You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 10th, 2021, 11:02 AM   #1
rguimond
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

rguimond is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Escuminac
Posts: 656
Three blown Powerflex 525s - don't know why

Monday, we had a VFD that controls the spped of a conveyor belt fail on us. Took the replacement out of the box, installed it and bam, it failed, too.

While waiting for a replacement, we meggered the motor and it was fine. To double-check, we brought it to a local moitor shop for testing. Changed the whip from disconnect to motor. Meggered everything from VFD output all all tested OK. There's a load reactor after the VFD

Today, we installed a replacement and it fried when power was applied. Even blew the fuse

Legs are roughly equal - 576, 580 & 588 volts

Any suggestions? The only thing I can think of is a bad local disconnect, but that seems unlikely
__________________
"If you can't measure it, you can't manage it!"
  Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2021, 03:04 PM   #2
tech321
Member
United States

tech321 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4
Have you tried powering the drive up without a load on it yet?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2021, 03:30 PM   #3
plvlce
Member
United States

plvlce is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 200
Check your brake as well as your motor wiring; I've had a shorted brake blow capacitors in the drive, and a shorted brake transistor cause problems on a different occasion.

+1 for powering up with no load
  Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2021, 03:39 PM   #4
kalabdel
Member
Canada

kalabdel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ontario
Posts: 746
Quote:
Originally Posted by rguimond View Post
Monday, we had a VFD that controls the spped of a conveyor belt fail on us. Took the replacement out of the box, installed it and bam, it failed, too.

.............

Today, we installed a replacement and it fried when power was applied. Even blew the fuse

First replacement "failed" in the same way as the original and the second replacement which "fried"?
Trying to make sure you are not troubleshooting problems that were created during replacement and not the original problem.
Please describe in detail how the original failed.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2021, 03:46 PM   #5
g.mccormick
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

g.mccormick is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: IN
Posts: 798
What type of incoming power? Have you checked L1,L2,L3 to ground?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2021, 04:15 PM   #6
MikeyN
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

MikeyN is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Illinois
Posts: 128
What was the part number on all three drives? Is it possible that you received 480V rated drives instead of 600V rated drives?
__________________
C:\Dos
C:\Dos Run
Run Dos Run
  Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2021, 04:19 PM   #7
_Dock_
Member
United States

_Dock_ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: KY
Posts: 496
Also make sure line and load are not being reversed in some fashion. Very easy to do.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2021, 04:46 PM   #8
jraef
Member
United States

jraef is offline
 
jraef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,050
Add to the "what if" list:
How long was the replacement drive sitting on the shelf without power?

Do you have a Line Reactor? If not, why not?

Last edited by jraef; June 10th, 2021 at 04:49 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2021, 05:38 PM   #9
Bit_Bucket_07
Member
United States

Bit_Bucket_07 is offline
 
Bit_Bucket_07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeast US
Posts: 1,677
Is the power supply transformer secondary a grounded system?

If so, is it possible that it lost it's ground connection?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2021, 10:14 PM   #10
ndzied1
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ndzied1 is offline
 
ndzied1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by jraef View Post
Add to the "what if" list:
How long was the replacement drive sitting on the shelf without power?

Do you have a Line Reactor? If not, why not?
You beat me to the “how long sitting on the shelf question”. We blew a drive once and my boss didn’t believe me when I told him we should have gone through a capacitor re-forming procedure until I showed him a white paper on it.
__________________
nOrM
======================
nOrM=Norman Dziedzic Jr.
I've never been to China but my phone has.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2021, 05:18 AM   #11
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by jraef View Post
Add to the "what if" list:
How long was the replacement drive sitting on the shelf without power?

Do you have a Line Reactor? If not, why not?
Also important, how long was it working 24/7 without being powered down. Some devices don't like losing power after years turned on (Hirschman switches and S7-400 rack PSU's come to mind).

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndzied1 View Post
You beat me to the “how long sitting on the shelf question”. We blew a drive once and my boss didn’t believe me when I told him we should have gone through a capacitor re-forming procedure until I showed him a white paper on it.
Do you have a link for it? I have to have these things in stock and it would be nice not to blow them up on startup.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2021, 07:25 AM   #12
drbitboy
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

drbitboy is offline
 
drbitboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardosocea View Post
Do you have a link for it?
Try The Google: https://www.google.com/search?q=capacitor+reforming


__________________
i) Take care of the bits, and the bytes will take care of themselves.
ii) There is no software problem that cannot be solved with another layer of indirection.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2021, 03:02 PM   #13
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is offline
 
parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 3,225
We had 10 or so 525's in one system, continually blowing them up, replaced them with Mitsubishi never had one of those fail in the 10 + years after that.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2021, 12:17 AM   #14
Phrog30
Member
United States

Phrog30 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by parky View Post
We had 10 or so 525's in one system, continually blowing them up, replaced them with Mitsubishi never had one of those fail in the 10 + years after that.
Weren't they released in 2013/2014?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2021, 03:37 AM   #15
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is offline
 
parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 3,225
Yes it's my typo it was 2012 so 11 years ago, we started replacing them the first two were replaced a couple of months after the plant was commissioned, this was a piece of machinery built in the states & the other was from Italy, both had AB drives, PLC's & Panelviews, the first two drives were replaced with Mitsubishi (we had no stock of the 525's at the time) but as they seemed to be more reliable we replaced them all after a number of failures within the first 12 months, on another note I don't know why but both the HMI & PLC on the US machine the power was disconnected on an E-stop, we had a number of failures of HMI's on that machine even though it was a 24v unit, I modified the safety circuit so both the PLC & HMI stayed powered up did not see the reasoning on knocking the supply as you could not see which E-stop had been pressed even though there was alarms for them To be honest, found on other plant the AB drives failed far more often than any other drive.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerflex 525s, Safety Circuits and monitoring testsubject LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 February 4th, 2021 10:43 AM
Powerflex 753 vfd fault neilm LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 July 9th, 2019 01:32 PM
2 Powerflex 525's to micrologix 1100 AA_Ron LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 May 13th, 2019 08:22 AM
PowerFlex 525's and using the Safe-Torque circuit.What color wire would you suggest? Baker in Virginia LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 November 7th, 2018 03:44 PM
Connecting to PowerFlex 4 via 1747UIC Adapter MY_USER.NAME LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 August 29th, 2014 05:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:36 AM.


.