You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 16th, 2019, 07:18 AM   #1
arbj
Member
India

arbj is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mrt
Posts: 55
Help needed in selecting a suitable PLC for demonstration purposes

Hi,

I frequently demonstrate automation product (that we make) to various customers.

The system uses an AB7007 Anybus gateway that connects to the customers PLC (usually Rockwell or ControlLogix), the automation product connects to the Anybus gateway via RS485 (using proprietary serial ASCII protocol).

PLC<< EthernetIP >>Anybus Gateway<< RS485 >>Automation Product

I was thinking the demonstration would be more effective and instructive, if I use a small demo PLC (Rockwell or ControlLogix) to connect to the Anybus gateway.

The customer can try out various programs, to interact with the automation system, also providing a hands-on experience of the system.

Could anyone suggest a suitable Rockwell PLC that is cheap but has Ethernet IP connectivity? Will a MicroLogix 1100 be suitable ?

Also do I have to buy the RSLogix Micro?? I have downloaded the free RSLogix Micro version, including the RSLogix Emulate 500. Can this free version be used instead??

thanks
a

Last edited by arbj; January 16th, 2019 at 07:20 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2019, 07:23 AM   #2
the_msp
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

the_msp is offline
 
the_msp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 985
MLX software is free for 1100, but if you have pre-written code in CPX/CLX this will need re-written for 1100 as it's 500 not 5000 platform. There is a breakout connector for the MLX 1763-NC01, use the RJ45 for ethernet but note the MLX ethernet doesn't have the same CIP capabilities as the CPX/CLX range.
__________________
Regards,

Patrick G. B.Eng MIET

Making the flashy lights flash since the 90's

SCADA - Inductive Automation Gold Integrator | PLC | Control Panels | Robotics | Training

Connect with Matrix Engineering
  Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2019, 08:33 AM   #3
arbj
Member
India

arbj is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mrt
Posts: 55
thanks for the reply.

Could I use the free version of RSLogix instead??
  Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2019, 08:53 AM   #4
Helliana
Member
United States

Helliana is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 745
I would highly recommend using a CompactLogix processor, with the 1769-L16 probably being the most affordable. Most of your customers will probably be using CompactLogix or Controllogix. Also, the Micrologix does not support implicit messaging, which i assume your device uses. In my opinion, using a Micrologix1100 would be a poor demonstration of how your device works and may hinder you instead of help.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2019, 12:43 PM   #5
the_msp
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

the_msp is offline
 
the_msp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 985
The free version is only for MLX 1100. There is no free version of Studio 5000. However, off the top of my head the MLX 1100 supports 232, 422 and 485 from it's comm port, so a possibility is to take out the AnyBus gateway from your demo.

I second the L16 advice, I could get a new but surplus L16 (from the likes of Radwell/PLCcentre) and the "compactlogix only" version of Studio 5000, both for less than 1000.
__________________
Regards,

Patrick G. B.Eng MIET

Making the flashy lights flash since the 90's

SCADA - Inductive Automation Gold Integrator | PLC | Control Panels | Robotics | Training

Connect with Matrix Engineering
  Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2019, 02:45 PM   #6
AustralIan
Member
Germany

AustralIan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,241
I think the 5069-L306ER + 5069-RTB64-SPRING is the cheapest Logix5000 processor at the moment, at least list price. I agree with others that a Logix5000 processor is likely what your customers use most. This means either a compactLogix or ControlLogix. If you want to cover all bases, you could get a Micro820, which has free software and is not of the Logix family. Some of your more price conscious OEMs might be using these.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2019, 04:02 AM   #7
arbj
Member
India

arbj is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mrt
Posts: 55
Thanks everyone for the reply.

I am thinking I should start with the Micro820, and then after sufficient experience I should then go CompactLogix or ControlLogix.

Do I need to buy the RSLogix software as well for the Micro820 ? Also I suppose it could be connected to the Anybus gateway?

thanks
a
  Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2019, 05:14 AM   #8
arbj
Member
India

arbj is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mrt
Posts: 55
I found this on Radwell.
https://www.radwell.com/en-US/Buy/AL...080-LC50-24QVB

This has some IOs and a built in Ethernet IP port. Is this suitable for connecting to the Anybus gateway ? Also is it possible to use the free version of the RSlogix software?

I checked compatibility with Rockwell site. The results are attached.

thanks
a
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Rockwell.jpg (157 Bytes, 66 views)

Last edited by arbj; January 17th, 2019 at 05:32 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2019, 05:29 AM   #9
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,834
Why not implement the ASCII protocol directly in the PLC ?
It just needs a serial port that supports ASCII.
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2019, 05:37 AM   #10
arbj
Member
India

arbj is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mrt
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperMP View Post
Why not implement the ASCII protocol directly in the PLC ?
It just needs a serial port that supports ASCII.
Yes that is a possibility.We are keeping things interchangeable as some customers require PROFIBUS-DP, CC-Link etc.

By providing the compatible gateway we can address these customers.

The purpose of the Rockwell PLC is to serve as a 'trainer/demo' for customers who would like to try out the various functions on the automation system.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2019, 07:14 AM   #11
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 7,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by arbj View Post
I found this on Radwell.
https://www.radwell.com/en-US/Buy/AL...080-LC50-24QVB

This has some IOs and a built in Ethernet IP port. Is this suitable for connecting to the Anybus gateway ? Also is it possible to use the free version of the RSlogix software?

I checked compatibility with Rockwell site. The results are attached.

thanks
a
No for the Micro850 series you will need CCW software... but its also from from Rockwell

We sell the 850's if you looking https://www.plccable.com/allen-bradley-micro800/

If you are looking at a CompactLogix and need the software look at PN 9324-RLD200ENE this is the mini version and will save you some money... it will not work with the Controllogix but works with the Compact https://literature.rockwellautomatio...r001_-en-p.pdf
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2019, 07:50 AM   #12
arbj
Member
India

arbj is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mrt
Posts: 55
Thanks geniusintraining for the help. I have bookmarked the link, it will come in use for me.

Any idea how much the CCW software costs?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2019, 08:00 AM   #13
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,834
Does the Anybus device need to be setup as an Ethernet/IP device ? I.e. it communicates via an input/output interface ?

If so, Micrologix or Micro800 will not work. They only support messaging over Ethernet/IP.

edit: The smalles AB PLC that supports 'real' Ethernet/IP is this one:
1769-L16ER-BB1B
And then you need RSLogix5000 MINI to program it.
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A

Last edited by JesperMP; January 17th, 2019 at 08:07 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2019, 08:10 AM   #14
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 7,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperMP View Post
Does the Anybus device need to be setup as an Ethernet/IP device ? I.e. it communicates via an input/output interface ?

If so, Micrologix or Micro800 will not work. They only support messaging over Ethernet/IP.
How about this?? I have never used one

https://www.plccable.com/allen-bradl...lug-in-module/


Quote:
Originally Posted by arbj
Any idea how much the CCW software costs?
They have two versions one is free not sure how much the other cost
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2019, 08:37 AM   #15
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
How about this?? I have never used one
https://www.plccable.com/allen-bradl...lug-in-module/
That was my suggestion, before, to dump the anybus device and go for ASCII directly on the PLC.
arbj however wants to standardize on the Anybus device.
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rs logix 5000 varunmahendran91 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 6th, 2014 02:26 PM
PLC 1 AI, 1 AO needed Wino LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 August 24th, 2011 01:23 PM
Wisconsin Connection for PLC training needed vampire LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 January 15th, 2007 03:00 PM
selecting a plc javeed LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 March 25th, 2003 01:04 PM
Real World Problem Vietnam Bob LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 November 23rd, 2002 03:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 PM.


.