What Are Your Lessons Learned About Being a Self Taught Programmer?

iadapt

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello,

I run a small online website called Logix Magazine (nothing to sell). Anyways, I would like to write an article about the lessons you have all learned being self-taught PLC programmers.

I am aware not all of you are self-taught, but for those that are, I would appreciate your opinion of what a newbie needs to know?

Thanks for your input.

I would appreciate your opinion of what a newbie needs to know?

1) Find resources that will help you... plctalk.net :site: and youtube are great places to start
2) Get some real hardware/software and dive in.
3) Study the brand that will help you the most accomplish your goals, if you have a bunch of AB hardware at your work lean AB first
4) Before you start programming write the project out and ID all the IO that you will need
5) If safety is involved get help
6) Dont expect to land a job programming, maybe start with something else.

If you have access to any machines with PLCs in them and you can upload the programs, do it. Reverse engineering a program is a good way to learn different ways that people write code. Then you can decide what you do and do not like.

Break code up into small chunks rather than trying to accomplish everything in as few lines as possible. It's one thing to become efficient, but until you've become regularly effective, shooting for super-compressed code just makes things more difficult for you and for anyone following behind you.

Keep multiple copies of the program. I'll usually keep an AM and PM verion of the software when I'm on site.

Put the date and version # in the file - many times PLCs are version specific. The last thing you want to do is go to a site and not have the correct version software to modify the program.

I use something like:

Project_Name_2019_08_11_V20P01_AM

Year-Month-Date helps with sorting in windows explorer and keeps the most recent on top / bottom.

Hi