Beginner having troubles with TwinCAT 3 basics

Lamaman

Hello!
I'm a complete beginner to programming and i have a project i'm working on in TwinCAT 3 since i'm using a Beckhoff PLC.

One of the problems i have, is this:
Variable1 :=TRUE; //test
IF Variable1= TRUE
THEN Variable2 := TRUE;
Variable3:= TRUE;
ELSE Variable2:= FALSE;
Variable3:= FALSE;
END_IF

I have defined all the variables. If i start the program , then only variable2 reacts to change in variable1. Variable3 stays false.
I have tried adding an AND before Variable3, but that makes no change.

I'm new to this forum and i hope what i'm explaining makes sense.
I have managed to solve some problems myself but can't wrap my head around this one. Seems to be a simple logic task but it wont work.

Anyway, can anyone tell where seems to be the problem?

Hello!
I'm a complete beginner to programming and i have a project i'm working on in TwinCAT 3 since i'm using a Beckhoff PLC.

One of the problems i have, is this:

I have defined all the variables. If i start the program , then only variable2 reacts to change in variable1. Variable3 stays false.
I have tried adding an AND before Variable3, but that makes no change.

I'm new to this forum and i hope what i'm explaining makes sense.
I have managed to solve some problems myself but can't wrap my head around this one. Seems to be a simple logic task but it wont work.

Anyway, can anyone tell where seems to be the problem?

The statements are executed in order, first if to elsif.........else. A true condition causes the program to executed the code for this specific condition then *breaks" out and continues at the end_if.

Edit: use a breakpoint and step into the code to see order of execution, while changing the value of different tags.

Last edited:
What happened the topic started a few weeks ago for YouTube TwinCat tutorials. Can't seem to find it and it was quite good. Look for alltwincat on Google and YouTube.