Flow Ladder Logic

slenkovj

In ladder logic, how can I generate totalized flow data from a flowmeter input? My flowmeter input is 12 bit analog (0-4095) which I use in a PID loop table and display on a touchscreen as "gallons per minute". Because the flow is intermittent, I would like to include a numeric display on my touchscreen that shows total flow (gallons) for the past 24 hours as well as "number of times flow was active". I am new to ladder logic and am using an Automation Direct DL-450 plc.

This has been discussed several times previous threads, but I'll give you a quick overview. If you need additional detail, you can search through the archives.

To build a totalizer, you sample the rate periodically, multiply the sampled rate by the time since the last sample and add the result to a running total.

Total = Total + (Rate * Period)

Remember, you also need to include any necessary unit conversion factors.

When you go a long time between samples, you introduce inaccuracies due to fluctations in flow between samples. If you sample more frequently, you need to make sure that the maximum value in the running total doesn't overflow the PLC memory. It's usually a good idea to convert integers to floating point numbers before doing the calcuclations.

Most good flowmeters have a totalizer output, that will pulse
everytime a certain volume of water has passed through it. If
you have such an output, configure it to pulse at the volume
you want e.g. ml's, cc's, L's etc.... Then connect it to an input
on your PLC and count away, I'm sure you won't need a high speed
counter.

Totalizers have always been hard for me to program even in old S5 statement list much less in ladder.........but I remain confused with Steves equation. Total= Total+(rate*period). If I sample a 100gpm flow signal (assume scaled numerical value of 100) evey 10 seconds using the above formula I get 6000 gal total after a min. of samples.

What am I missing??? Shouldn't it be 100 gallons?