You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 23rd, 2020, 01:22 PM   #1
Derp-Dee-Drrr
Member
United States

Derp-Dee-Drrr is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7
Logix Studio v31 Fatal Errors

Hi, I recently started using Logix Studio v31 after having been using v20 for years. I keep getting these fatal error seemingly at random a few times a day. It always seems to happen when I am editing code, logic, desc, etc. Each fatal error has the same error code in the log, as followed:

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Fatal Error!
Application Path: C:\Program Files\Rockwell Software\Studio 5000\Logix Designer\ENU\v31\Bin\LogixDesigner.exe
Elapsed execution time: 23 hours, 56 minutes, & 9 seconds
Version: V31.01.00 (Release)
Location: 0xffffffffffffffff+-1
OS Version: Windows 8 32-bit
Thread Id: 000007f4 (2036)
Error 0xe06d7363 (-529697949)
RxEXCEPTION_MICROSOFT_C_PLUS_PLUS - A Microsoft C++ exception was generated but not handled.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2020, 01:43 PM   #2
KuulKuum
Member
United States

KuulKuum is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 278
I would start with try to "Repair" your installation of Studio 5000 v31.

Go to Windows Control Panel>select your software installation>then select "Change" which will start the InstallShield Wizard that will allow your to "Repair Installation".
  Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2020, 01:54 PM   #3
saultgeorge
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

saultgeorge is offline
 
saultgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Detroit
Posts: 419
Hi, I know I had to do a repair on Factory Talk Services manager for something very similar. Also, there may have been a recent update on your PC that is causing this. I had to get A-B tech support to check into errors one time and they went in and deleted an update to Windows, and it cured it. However I believe it was Windows 7. Hope this helps you.
__________________
"Instant success teaches one nothing. Failure teaches one everything one needs to succeed."
  Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2020, 08:08 PM   #4
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,539
This may or may not help, download the latest patches from Rockwell's Knowledgebase, Article 604248.
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2020, 08:04 PM   #5
Jrc
Member
United States

Jrc is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2
Long story short we recently purchased studio 5000 and I foolishly installed v31 thinking it was the latest and greatest and found I couldnít work with the stuff we had programmed with v29 I uninstalled(not knowing I didnít have to) v31 installed v29 and started getting the very same errors. We donít have tech connect but I did call the installation support number and found that it was due to corrupted registry files dealing with visual c++ they were very helpful I tried removing the windows update and all I got was a nasty conversation with it threatening to remove my administrative rights on the computer it boiled down to different versions came with different versions of c++ and they didnít talk and play well together
  Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2020, 08:13 PM   #6
BAJ
Member
United States

BAJ is offline
 
BAJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 194
I had they exact same problem with v31 - crash city. V32 is better. Far from perfect, but better than v31.
__________________
A programmer is a tool that converts caffeine into code.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2020, 08:18 PM   #7
Phrog30
Member
United States

Phrog30 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 900
V31 is garbage. But, in my experience most crashes I experienced were caused from the watch window. Close it and see if that helps.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Studio 5000 v31 Tag-Based Alarms / Associated Tags? Zlinger LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 9th, 2020 12:00 PM
Studio 5000 v31 saved a null project file? gothroach LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 February 1st, 2019 11:32 AM
Upgrading to Studio 5000 v31 causes issues with FTView 9.0 phuz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 December 20th, 2018 05:24 AM
RS Logix 5000 Fatal Error hashmi.mohammad LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 November 8th, 2017 09:34 AM
Logix 500 Fatal Error wilheldp LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 February 19th, 2005 10:14 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:10 PM.


.