You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 2nd, 2019, 05:58 PM   #1
AnotherPLCguy
Member
United States

AnotherPLCguy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 14
TCP/IP Communication between CompactLogix PLC/ Matlab

Hello Experts,

I am building an application in Matlab (on my PC) which has a TCP/IP toolbox to allow me to connect to Ethernet enabled devices and I want my application to be able to talk to a CompactLogix 1769-L32E PLC. Can you please suggest a right command to use in the RSLogix software environment to have the PLC send some data to my application ? Would Message (MSG) instruction be right to use here ? I did some research on this and see that the instruction is used for communication between two controllers however in my case it is PLC to PC.

On another note, as I was doing my research, I stumbled upon a youtube video which shows the above exercise for a Siemens PLC and he does that using TCON instruction in Siemens. So my alternate question would be, what is the equivalent instruction in Allen-Bradley what TCON is to Siemens ?

Thanks for your time!

(PS: Here is the link to the youtube video I am taking about https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mYXUWUf7LxU)
  Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2019, 08:15 PM   #2
Geoff White
Member
Australia

Geoff White is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 441
Have a look at open sockets in the KB
  Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2019, 11:55 PM   #3
Jeev
Member
Australia

Jeev is offline
 
Jeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 622
The L32E won't do Socket comms natively, and doing it with a Prosoft or EWEB card is a bit of a pain. In terms of cost, I would look at using something like an OPC server and the Matlab OPC Toolbox.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S7-1200 to S7-300 Plc Communication TAMILARASAN LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 December 28th, 2017 12:48 AM
MELSEC FX2N PLC Communication dhirub4u LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 March 30th, 2016 01:51 PM
weintek MT8070iE to Wago 750-881 via MODBUS TCP/IP results in PLC no repsonse Gaz25 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 8th, 2014 01:59 AM
Plc suggestion aec LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 36 January 2nd, 2012 01:56 AM
Fatek PLC and Intouch Wonderware MOdbus TCP/IP Communication -KeNshIn- LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 14th, 2010 04:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 PM.


.