You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 29th, 2004, 09:55 AM   #1
Philadelphia Frank
Member
United States

Philadelphia Frank is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 75
Merging labels and ladder on a PLC5

How do you go about merging a PLC5 file (I forgot the extension) that has documentation or labels with a file that doesnít? The file on our PC was probably down loaded from the PLC Ė no labels. I found a much older copy of the same file with the labels (or documentation). I would like to add the labels to the current copy.

With Directsoft (Automation Direct), I would open the older program on my PC and then connect to the PLC. Directsoft would alert me of the differences between the two programs and give me the option to choose which version I want to work with. If I choose the PLC version, that ladder logic is loaded into the PC RAM and then I can save it back onto the harddrive. I would have the current program with labels.

Iím sure RSLogix will do the same but Iím nervous about messing something up. Can I do the same thing? Load the program with labels and then go online? Will RSLogix give me the chance to display the running ladder program and the labels from the harddrive? Is there a better way?

Thank you for your time and help;
Frank
  Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2004, 10:06 AM   #2
kamenges
Member
United States

kamenges is offline
 
kamenges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brillion, WI
Posts: 4,179
First of all, make a copy of your old, commented program and your new uncommented program and file them away somewhere safe.

I don't have a PLC5 here so this is from memory. Open Logix5 and attach to the plc. Logix5 will look for a file on your computer that matches the plc. It probably won't find one. You will them be propmpted to select a file. Select your old, commented file. One of the selections along the right side of the file selection window should say something like 'Upload File/Merge Documentation' or something like that. That is the selection you want to make. The plc program will upload and the documentation from your old program should show up. then do a 'Save As...' and save it as what you want.

I hope this helps.

Keith
  Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2004, 10:10 AM   #3
msinclair
Member
United States

msinclair is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: US
Posts: 398
The other option if you don't have the PLC handy (just the off-line files), is to open the commented file and export the database (\Tools\Database\ASCII Export). Then open the uncommented file and import the database that you just exported (\Tools\Database\ASCII Import).

Marc
  Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2004, 01:04 AM   #4
Philadelphia Frank
Member
United States

Philadelphia Frank is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 75
Thank you for your help.

Thank you for both suggestions. I will try them as soon as I can.

Frank
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:10 PM.


.