You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 8th, 2014, 12:26 PM   #1
amberman
Member
England

amberman is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Brighton
Posts: 102
Reading selected language on PanelView by CompactLogix PLC

Quick version is is it possible to read the language that the user has selected on a Panel View? There seems to be no system flags but are there other ways?

The reason why I need to do it is that the HMI/PLC software I am working from was only written with one language in mind so uses both PLC string text as well as HMI text. This was done since there is a common set up page on the HMI that reads all sorts of parameters including strings from the PLC. Unfortunately the language I'm after (Russian) uses non-ASCII characters - no problem for the PanelView but the PLC only seems to handle ASCII.

I have a convoluted work around but it depends on being able to read the language.

The other strange one is that momentary push buttons overlaid on the language selector seem to mask the action of the language selector operation... Not what I expected from working with other HMIs. If I could pick up the action of pressing the language selector in the PLC then that would of course solve my problem. Not nice but given the total solution is getting a bit clunky anyway and the usual time pressures are on us I'd cope with it.

I've limited experience of Factory Talk so any assistance appreciated.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2014, 09:40 AM   #2
cwal61
Member
United States

cwal61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 1,156
I know this is late in the game. But CurrentLanguage() is a Function Code that will give the runtime current language.
Search Help for Functions you'll see the topic Language Functions in expressions.

Maybe you could also create a macro to copy CurrentLanguage() to a Tag for use in your program.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2014, 09:31 AM   #3
amberman
Member
England

amberman is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Brighton
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwal61 View Post
I know this is late in the game. But CurrentLanguage() is a Function Code that will give the runtime current language.
Search Help for Functions you'll see the topic Language Functions in expressions.

Maybe you could also create a macro to copy CurrentLanguage() to a Tag for use in your program.
I never found the above in the Help under languages but did eventually get a nod towards some useful KB articles (especially 32569), though Rockwell support themselves weren't much use.

I did use CurrentLanguage() in an if/then expression - en-GB points to the existing English string tag from the PLC and ru-RU points to an HMI tag where I can enter Cyrillic characters. If I was to do the programming from scratch myself it would have been easier to stick it all in the HMI especially as this way would have picked up the translations which otherwise have to be extracted manually...but it's too late now.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panelview Component to Compactlogix Ethernet Tim James LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 29 December 16th, 2020 08:14 PM
PLC Update - Back Issues Collection Now Available! Phil Melore LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 October 22nd, 2015 03:17 AM
Problem Changing IP addresses of Compactlogix L32E and Panelview 1000 Hamburgers LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 June 30th, 2014 12:35 PM
New to AB panelview +600 & AB PLC theripley LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 September 9th, 2013 08:38 PM
Beginner question: Can PanelView alter values in a PLC? rreddy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 November 25th, 2002 06:24 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 PM.


.