You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 16th, 2021, 11:17 AM   #1
Rson
Member
United States

Rson is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 376
Ethernet vs Profinet cables?

Is there really any difference?

I see the ethernet are typically colored teal and the profinet green. They appear to have the same pinouts - and I assume a standard CAT5 ethernet cable from Staples would work in either case, correct?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 11:18 AM   #2
JRW
Member
United States

JRW is offline
 
JRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upstate South Cackalacky
Posts: 2,037
Those will work but the shielding is completely different
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 11:22 AM   #3
Rson
Member
United States

Rson is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 376
Sorry if I'm not clear:

If I have a teal Ethernet/IP cable and I use it in place of a Green Profinet cable for a Siemens install - there really isn't any difference apart from the color of the sheath, correct?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 11:39 AM   #4
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,591
You want a minimum of Cat5E STP if you aren't using the normal cable(green stuff).

6 or 6e is probably better, and pick stranded or solid based on how it will be installed.

Cable is cheap, installing/repairing it is not.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 11:58 AM   #5
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,884
Will wokr fine...
Just make sure you get good quality shielded Ethernet Cable, CAT5E or better.
The "E" means high speed (1000 Mbit / 1 Gbit) cable. After CAT5E, CAT6 and above are already high speed rated.

I use this for my Profinet long runs... where I add good quality ("feed Thru" type) connectors
https://www.automationdirect.com/adc..._cable/q5099-1

For short runs:
https://www.automationdirect.com/adc...twisted_pair)#
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.

Last edited by NetNathan; April 16th, 2021 at 12:11 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 12:34 PM   #6
mk42
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

mk42 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MI
Posts: 2,710
Officially, I think PN uses a different standard than Cat5/6/whatever to approve cables (because of course they do), but it's still an ethernet cable. Same pinouts, etc. Note that PN cables are typically 2 pair instead of 4 pair, because most PN devices are only 100mbit, but you probably want 4 pair/gig rated cable for backbone stuff.



Realistically, yes, it's probably fine, as long as its shielded.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 12:39 PM   #7
Helliana
Member
United States

Helliana is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 740
The green Profinet cable is shielded, has only 4 conductors, uses different colors, and has higher voltage rated insulation than standard commercial CAT5E or CAT6. Profinet cable only supports 10/100Mb connections, and does not support gigabit.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 01:15 PM   #8
Jim3846
Member
United States

Jim3846 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 162
spring caged connectors don't work with solid wire very well. Vampire type connectors work well with stranded. Keep this in mind with the connectors your using with your cable, it factors in for a good connection.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 01:40 PM   #9
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 7,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rson View Post
Is there really any difference?

I see the ethernet are typically colored teal and the profinet green.
You can not make a short radius bend with the green cable, all of the bends will need to be a long radius 90's, its like they are made with a stiff PVC jacket

The ends are huge... the middle one is a cat7 the other is a cat5
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20210416_133558.jpg (106.1 KB, 169 views)
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 02:31 PM   #10
Bit_Bucket_07
Member
United States

Bit_Bucket_07 is offline
 
Bit_Bucket_07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeast US
Posts: 1,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by mk42 View Post
Officially, I think PN uses a different standard than Cat5/6/whatever to approve cables (because of course they do), but it's still an ethernet cable. Same pinouts, etc. Note that PN cables are typically 2 pair instead of 4 pair, because most PN devices are only 100mbit, but you probably want 4 pair/gig rated cable for backbone stuff.



Realistically, yes, it's probably fine, as long as its shielded.
Only the orange and green pair are used for 10BASE-T/100BASE-T Ethernet connections. 1000BASE-T and higher also use the blue and brown pair. The "spare" pairs may also be used for POE (Power Over Ethernet) applications, such as network cameras.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2021, 11:13 PM   #11
bill4807
Member
United States

bill4807 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: michigan
Posts: 202
The same with ethercat cable. This could be a green cable as well and the ones i have used have a bend radius that is pretty good.
I have used cables that are called ethercat, for hooking up my laptop to ethernet PLCs.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2021, 10:11 PM   #12
RVaughan
Member
United States

RVaughan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
...the middle one is a cat7 the other is a cat5
Cat 7 is not an official specification, but rather a manufacturer-declared rating, is that correct?

The foil stamped on the outside of the plug head provides a shield connection. I discovered this one day by inadvertently rebooting a Rockwell HMI multiple times. Apparently the control panel and my laptop had enough of a potential difference to bring the HMI's voltage to an unusable level.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2021, 09:23 AM   #13
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 7,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVaughan View Post
Cat 7 is not an official specification, but rather a manufacturer-declared rating, is that correct?
I think you are correct, I think its still pending, but they have Cat8 already listed on Wiki "2000 MHz" thats fast
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ISO/IEC_11801
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2021, 10:11 AM   #14
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,742
CAT5E, 4 wire, shielded, voltage and EMC approved for industrial use.

Equally important is to use good connectors. You need to check that the chosen connector works well with the chosen cable.
The connector must be able to get good contact with the wires and also the screen. The connector should also grab or bite into the cable mantle to get a good mechanical hold onto the cable. If the wire or cable diameters are different than what the connector is designed for, then it will be unreliable and fail in the long run.

If you purchase the combination of connector and cable from a reputable industrial vendor, and that it is stated that the cable and connector are suitable for each other then you should be covered.

Btw. whoever invented RJ45 should drawn and quartered.
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2021, 11:15 AM   #15
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 7,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperMP View Post

Btw. whoever invented RJ45 should drawn and quartered.
Dont hold back, tell us how you really feel....
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GE Profinet Ethernet vs Fiber for remote IO panels? CJlikesCHAIRS LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 December 28th, 2017 06:02 PM
Profinet = Industrial Ethernet ? Kataeb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 April 2nd, 2014 01:50 PM
ethernet cables for drive-cliq connection to sinamics s120 ? Kataeb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 December 15th, 2010 10:36 AM
shielded ethernet cables for drive-cliq connection to sinamics s120 components? Kataeb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 18th, 2009 10:35 AM
Industrial ethernet & Profinet difference Nilesh Sinha LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 17th, 2005 07:19 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:41 AM.


.