You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 16th, 2021, 08:00 AM   #1
s9k2004
Member
Philippines

s9k2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Riyadh
Posts: 6
Slc5/05 ethernet communication

Im have some difficulty going online with 1747_L552 controller. Perhaps im missing something and i hope someone could assist me..

Here is my initial steps ive made and troubleshooting..

1. Controller is communicating withRS232 via 1747-UIC adapter..
2. I disabled boottp from channel configuration and assigned the following
IP ADDRESS 192.168.10.0
subnet mask : 255.255.255.0
and saved the parameters.
3. Open local network connection on my laptop and assigned the following static address:

ip address : 192.169.10.100
Subnet mask : 255.255.255.0

4. Open Rslinks and configure drivers. Adding Ethernet/IP driver
4. Open rswho and tried browsing the device but no network was found.
5. Open cmd at dos and tried pinging the address and no pocket loss connection..

These are the basics in establishing communication but it seems that i am still missing something that is why i am having diffulty going online.

Any additional idea and steps that i need to do? Please help.

Thanks..
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 08:07 AM   #2
driverx
Member
Canada

driverx is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: quebec
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by s9k2004 View Post
Im have some difficulty going online with 1747_L552 controller. Perhaps im missing something and i hope someone could assist me..

Here is my initial steps ive made and troubleshooting..

1. Controller is communicating withRS232 via 1747-UIC adapter..
2. I disabled boottp from channel configuration and assigned the following
IP ADDRESS 192.168.10.0
subnet mask : 255.255.255.0
and saved the parameters.
3. Open local network connection on my laptop and assigned the following static address:

ip address : 192.169.10.100
Subnet mask : 255.255.255.0

4. Open Rslinks and configure drivers. Adding Ethernet/IP driver
4. Open rswho and tried browsing the device but no network was found.
5. Open cmd at dos and tried pinging the address and no pocket loss connection..

These are the basics in establishing communication but it seems that i am still missing something that is why i am having diffulty going online.

Any additional idea and steps that i need to do? Please help.

Thanks..
MATERIALS REQUIRED:
Adapter 1747-UIC (DH485 AB-UIC, switch RS232) on wire 1761-CBL-PM02.
RSLINX:
YOU MUST CHOOSE: DH485 UIC Devices (AB_UIC-1),
PLC node number: 01
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 08:19 AM   #3
s9k2004
Member
Philippines

s9k2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Riyadh
Posts: 6
Good day driverx..

I want to configure the ethernet feature of slc5/05 using standard patch cable directly to my laptop going online with the controller..

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 08:25 AM   #4
Ken Moore
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ken Moore is offline
 
Ken Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North, West, South Carolina
Posts: 3,070
Instead of Ethernet IP driver, configure standard ethernet driver. You will have to manually add the 5/05 address to the node list. Older 5/05's do not support Ethernet IP.
__________________
Certified Siemens Functional Safety Professional,
ID: SFSP17010238
https://azr.com/
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 09:00 AM   #5
jimtech67
Member
United States

jimtech67 is offline
 
jimtech67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 455
try this
Attached Images
File Type: png rs who.png (40.8 KB, 54 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 09:52 AM   #6
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 7,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Moore View Post
Instead of Ethernet IP driver, configure standard ethernet driver. You will have to manually add the 5/05 address to the node list. Older 5/05's do not support Ethernet IP.
As Ken stated you will need to use a standard ethernet driver for a series A and some B

This may also help but it sounds like you are setting it up correct https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GGdnlTXN-lY

Question... why is the DB9 setup for DH485? most of the time thats 232 and you would not use the UIC just a null modem
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 11:43 AM   #7
s9k2004
Member
Philippines

s9k2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Riyadh
Posts: 6
Hello guys thanks to your help.
My controller is now vissible to my laptop via standard ethernet drive which means i can possibly connect now. However, during uploading another problem surface.

Error is "DiagnostocStatus failed: 0x10"

I will update you guys once i solved this problem
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 12:16 PM   #8
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 7,454
When you upload you need to click on Comms, then SYS comms, then select your driver and then upload, I think you are trying to upload with out the driver set
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 01:04 PM   #9
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 10,471
Quote:
IP ADDRESS 192.168.10.0
subnet mask : 255.255.255.0
and saved the parameters.
3. Open local network connection on my laptop and assigned the following static address:

ip address : 192.169.10.100
Subnet mask : 255.255.255.0

I'm not an Ethernet address expert (know very little if fact) but doesn't the 169 and 168 part of the IP address have to be the same, i.e both 168

Please correct me if I'm wrong, trying to learn
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 01:06 PM   #10
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 10,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey View Post
I'm not an Ethernet address expert (know very little if fact) but doesn't the 169 and 168 part of the IP address have to be the same, i.e both 168
Good eye, Mickey. Maybe that was a typo, but you are right that if that 2nd octet is a mismatch, he will be watching the RSLinx browse icon spinning for a long long long time.
__________________
You've been taken, but you don't know it yet.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 01:10 PM   #11
Jim3846
Member
United States

Jim3846 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 162
Ethernet IP driver is flaky and it just goes out and finds whats out there. Sometimes this browsing does not work. I think it needs a switch between the plc and your laptop. The other Ethernet devices driver works everytime.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 03:11 PM   #12
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 15,879
The EtherNet/IP driver in RSLinx Classic uses a broadcast packet, with the command "List Identity".

Every device that receives that packet should respond with its identity object, which is what populates the graphical network display so quickly.

It can be less consistent or less reliable than the older Ethernet Devices driver because networks are flexible and complex. If you've got hardwired Ethernet and WiFi connected at he same time, or you have routers that block broadcasts, that sort of thing can affect broadcast traffic.

The older Ethernet Devices driver, as noted, just goes and connects over TCP to each device in the Station list. Of course you already have to know their IP addresses.

Very old SLC-5/05 controllers won't work with the EtherNet/IP driver because they don't support CIP Ethernet. That feature was added to the SLC-5/05 in Firmware Revision FRN5, about 22 years ago.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSLinx ethernet communication MarkiusSchu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 5th, 2017 02:17 PM
RSLinx Communication Setup for Ethernet through DH+ to Ethernet Dariusincj LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 August 2nd, 2017 05:35 AM
Compact Logix multiple VFD Ethernet communication AnotherPLCguy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 June 16th, 2016 10:37 AM
PanelView Plus ---> SLC L551 Ethernet Communication Issues celichi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 May 3rd, 2016 01:40 PM
SLC 5/05 Ethernet RSLinx Driver Communication Setup PLBoudette LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 September 28th, 2007 10:14 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 AM.


.