Pathfinding on PLC

mrandy

Has anyone got experience implementing a pathfinding algorithm (like AStar or Dijkstra) on a PLC?

I'm a student and considering this idea for a final project:

Given a fluid network, with many pumps, valves, tanks, and outlets, the operator should have an interface (HMI) to select where they would like fluid to be pumped from and to.

The system would then automatically, and not via pre-programmed routes, determine the best way to get the fluid pumping and configure all of the valves and pumps appropriately. This would enable features like automatically rerouting around broken components. It would also mean that when the fluid network is changed (new pipes, valves, pumps, etc. added), they just needed to be included in the PLC's data, and it will automatically figure out how to use them.

I'm pretty sure this isn't a normal PLC task, but has it been done? How possible is it?

Theoretically possible, probably. I'm willing to bet that some large DCS systems sell routing solutions as an option.

As for implementing it yourself, maybe? I just looked up Dijkstra on wikipedia, and the psuedocode looks rather short. The trick will be that most PLCs don't really support full object oriented programming, so you would have to implement most the data structures yourself out of simple arrays. Out of the standard PLC languagues, I'd recommend SCL. Most people, (especially in this forum) use ladder whenever possible, but SCL is usually better for algorithmic coding.

One other thing to consider for your project is that in a practical system, there will probably be multiple things getting pumped at the same time, so it may want to select optimal pathing given multiple sources/destinations. It may also want to take into account that many chemicals leave residue as they flow through pipes, and they must either be flushed afterwards before they can be used again, or the beginning of the next flow must be considered contaminated.