SLC vs CLX

smiller

I am currently using AB SLC 5/05's in substation automation. I am by no means an expert in AB stuff and I recently borrowed a CompactLogix PLC from a contractor that we sometimes employ. I have been dabbling in RSLogix 5000 to try and get a feel for the differences. What advantages does the CLX and Logix 5000 offer over the SLC and Logix 500. So far I don't see any major differences in the software (I'm talking about ladder) other than the different languages. I guess that the ControlLogix line has more comm options but over all I haven't seen a huge difference. Is the CLX line and Logix5000 large leap in capability?

Thanks.

Steve

Check for some old threads on this website. I got bashed up once for asking this question at this forum. You may want to check up with previous threads posted on this site before you may think of posting questions.

the answer to your question is yes..to me..it seems like a quantum leap..from RS 500 to RS 5000..( i mean both hardware and s/w wise)

Substation automation usually requires some communications via radio. Both are very capable in that aspect, but one other thing comes to mind, and that is the ability to store more data if comms are lost. With that in mind, I think you will find it easier to implement in CLx only because of the data array function of CLx and the vast memory offered!

just a bitmore

In a nutshell the answer is yes. In the long run you will probably be making the change to the new CLX family anyhow.

The single biggest feature that I use extensively is the ability to create User Defined Datatypes (UDT's). These very handy objects hugely assist in creating far more strutured and better commented logic, and substantially reduce developement time.

Sequence of Events (SOE) modules are now available for CLX that may be of interest in substation automation, along with some very cool GPS time stamp modules to allow sub millisecond time resolution over wide geographic areas.