Am I wasting my time?

Mrplc:)

So my situation is this. I got a job as a conveyor technician about 7 years ago at which point I knew very little about the trade (got the job through a friend). Since then I have taken a course on control circuits at Humber and gotten my PLC & Electromechanical technician certification. I have lots of warehouse experience and some welding tickets and worked as a site to site tech doing service calls, PM's, taredowns installs to a lot of big names company's and have a good working knowledge of Plc panels/components. In other words I consider myself a pretty compident technician. I have a few problems though. like I've mentioned I have my certification in PLC's. I'm currently going over my Plc skills and trying to get proficient at it so I can program most conveyors. The problem is there's not a lot of need for programming skills at my current job. I enjoy Plc programming and would like to be good at it but I would most likely have to find new work to utilize/develop these skills in a real world situation. Are there a lot of company's looking for someone with my skill set or would further education be required to ever expect to find work on this field? I have no idea how to get my foot in the door and not risk biting off more than I can chew. Unfortunately I can't afford much further education and feel like I'm still not properly paid for the skills I have already. I'm trying to figure out if I should just leave my Plc skills as is (a nice little bonus on my resume but not much else) and focus on developing other job related skills or if I should see this thing through. I realize this may be a difficult thing to give advice on but since I have no practical experience as a Plc programmer in the field anu info in this regard could be helpful. Thanks.