Business Question, I'm new at this.

ganutenator

Lifetime Supporting Member
A friend of mine is willing to pay to get me set up to be a UL panel builder.

I am the electrician and programmer and am bringing all the work.

How should I set up the agreement or partnership.

Aka, what percentage of profit should he receive?

If his role is only to provide seed capital, and doesn't plan to be an active partner, then agree on a interest rate for a line of credit. There is no reason to make him a partner if his role is not going to be continuous; I'd rather use credit cards than have a dead partner.

Be very careful, for some reason, people with a little bit of money THINK differently then people who actually do work to make money.

Be very careful, for some reason, people with a little bit of money THINK differently then people who actually do work to make money.

By the same token people with the skills to do the work to make money oft times forget to take into account (pun intended) the importance of admin.

In principle I agree with jstolaruk with one big caveat.

If your friend's money is in the form of a loan, then you have to repay it whether or not the UL certification brings in any more business. Are you sure you are currently missing out on potential jobs due to your lack of UL certification? Are you sure you could handle the additional business if you had certification? By "additional business" I don't mean just the orders that come in for UL work. There may also be paperwork and costs involved in maintaining the certification once you get it.

These are just my initial thoughts, based on nothing more than speculation. I don't have any direct experience with UL certification.