PLC applications questions

sbailey838

Hi guys, so this isn't a technical question, but rather a question to settle my own curiosity.

I've been working in a manufacturing facility that manufactures paper products, and we use PLCs for literally everything. I've been programming them for the past 4 months, and i really do enjoy it and see myself pursuing a career within this field for at least a few years, but i've been curious about how PLCs are used in other industries, renewable energy specifically, (wind, solar mainly i guess)

Also, free lancing has also been a curiosity of mine after reading a few posts on here...

Basically any career wisdom you could give outside of manufacturing would be great.

From what I know there are no PLCs involved in wind farms. Every turbine is identical, and whoever supplies the turbine supplies an identical controller that goes in every unit with the same programming. The SCADA system would probably be unique to each wind farm, and there could be a PLC in the substation as part of the SCADA system, but maybe not. Solar I imagine is much the same - there isn't much to program there and if it is then it is probably cookie cutter.

Gotcha, I have been thinking about it for a while and never really knew what COULD have been used with a PLC... what other industries are PLCs used in than?

I work in the geothermal power industry and we use them for all kinds of stuff. Startup sequencing of the plant, pump controls, cooling tower controls, turbine controls, burner controls, annunciators, etc. lots and lots of analog instrumentation. We also use them in the field as our RTU/ data acquisition system, well controls, pump station controls. Nothing really complicated but everything is really spread out. We've even talked about putting the control room lights on the PLC.

Oil and gas uses them. Water and waste water uses them. Coal, natural gas and nuclear power plants. Grain elevators. Pulp and paper, sawmills and Osb mills.