AB Online edit advice

secs

Hi all.

By my recent posts you will notice I use a lot of Red Lion HMI panels. I am a software programer from way back (electrician by trade) and I still like writing code so I like doing PROGRAMS in Crimson 3.

In most of my cases we have slc500 units connected to the panels. I can easily do what I want using ladder logic but am a bit hesitant to make changes to running syste, I am now going to bite the bullett and have a couple of questions in regards to live editing. My plc stuff is normally down then downloaded as I lack the self confidence to do live stuff but here goes

The system is currently in RUN mode (key switch) and the equipment is running . SO I gather I have to put it into program mode

Can I do this while its running and it wont stop?

As for the live editing, I found a tutorial but my main question is above. I am sure I will have more :)

First off -

The SLC PLCs have *3* keyswitch positions.
Prog - Program
Rem - Remote
Run - Run

If you put the keyswitch into the Prog position, your PLC will NOT be running.

From the quickstart guide, which I recommend reading http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/qs/1747-qs001_-en-p.pdf

"RUN Position
This position places the processor in the Run mode. The processor
scans/executes the ladder program, monitors input devices, energizes
output devices, and acts on enabled I/O forces. You can only change
the processor mode by changing the key position. You cannot
perform online program editing.
To change the mode to Run, turn the key from PROG or REM to
RUN. When the key is in the RUN position, you cannot use a
programmer/operator interface device to change modes.

PROG Position
This position places the processor in the Program mode. The
processor does not scan/execute the ladder program, and the
controller outputs are de-energized. You can perform online
program editing. You can only change the mode by changing the
key position.